Books

Book Review – The Death Cure by James Dashner

the death cureTitle: The Death Cure
Author: James Dashner
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopian/Science Fiction
Date: 
2013
Publisher: Chicken House
Pages: 327
Started: 19th March 2016
Completed: 19th March 2016
Rating: 4/5
Summary: Thomas knows that Wicked can’t be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they’ve collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It’s up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.

What Wicked doesn’t know is that something’s happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can’t believe a word of what Wicked says.

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine. Will anyone survive the Death Cure?


The Maze Runner coverThe Death Cure is the final book in James Dashner’s dystopian young adult trilogy. It is preceded by The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials. I have reviewed both of the previous novels. You can read my review of The Maze Runner here and my review of The Scorch Trials here.

the scorch trialsBoth The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials have film adaptations featuring Dylan O’Brien as the lead character. The film adaptation of The Death Cure is due to be released in early 2017. I haven’t seen any of the films yet but I’ll get round to watching them eventually.

There are two prequels for the trilogy, The Kill Order and The Fever Code, but the second has not been released yet.


This book is going to be difficult to review because I refuse to include spoilers. However, the main plot revolves around Thomas and his friends finding a cure for the Flare which some of them are infected with.

Each of the Gladers is offered the opportunity to undergo surgery to regain their memories. Thomas, Minho, and Newt break away from the larger group when they refuse the treatment. However, Thomas is no longer able to communicate telepathically with Aris and Teresa because they do have the surgery.

Thomas, Minho, and Newt must find a way to break WICKED’s mind-control over them and so they travel to Denver, a place that is meant to be Immune to the Flare. In Denver they find a group of people, called the Right Arm, who intend to stop WICKED’s experiments. The Right Arm intend to infiltrate WICKED and Thomas decides to help them.

The Death Cure is all about finding a cure for the Flare and it’s very interesting. I love the concept of the cure (which I won’t reveal) but I honestly wasn’t expecting that answer. It really shocked me and I loved it.


There are several characters that broke my heart while I was reading this book. Thomas, Newt, and Teresa all have tragic storylines but Newt’s almost broke me. I just couldn’t handle it. I don’t want to say anything about these storylines because that’ll just spoil the whole book and I don’t want to do that.

It’s such a sad story though and Dashner is almost cruel to his characters in this book. I became very emotional while I was reading it which is unusual for me because I don’t really cry over books. Poor Newt.

newt gif

The writing of The Death Cure was fast -paced and enjoyable to read. I can’t fault James Dashner’s ability to write an excellent young adult novel. He just knows how to keep a reader interested.

I actually really liked the ending and the epilogue but I know a lot of people that didn’t.


The Kill OrderOkay, I didn’t give this book 5 stars (like I did for The Scorch Trials) mainly because it left so many questions unanswered. While I did enjoy the ending I wish it wrapped up the series better. I was left wanting a little bit more clarity after I had finished reading it.

Maybe reading the prequels will help but I don’t plan on reading The Kill Order for a while and The Fever Code isn’t even out yet. Also, I really believe that a series should be able to stand alone without the need for prequels.


Overall, I really enjoyed The Death Cure, even if it did raise more questions than it answered. I would recommend it because I’d recommend the whole trilogy. It’s an excellent dystopian trilogy and it’s a wonderful rendition of a post-apocalyptic world.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Death Cure by James Dashner

Leave a Reply

