Books · Personal

The Sunday Post #27

The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This post is an opportunity to recap the past week on my blog and in my personal life. It’s also a chance to set up some goals for the upcoming week and talk about anything else that I want to talk about.

See the rules here.


Personal:

This week was a bad week.

On Monday I had an argument in class about whether Frankenstein was a Science Fiction novel or not. It is. Don’t tell me that it isn’t.

Tuesday was another bad day as I had a minor meltdown in Palaeography. Don’t ask.

Wednesday was the worst day of the week. Everything went wrong. I woke up to a huge rash on my face which means that I had an allergic reaction to something. Yay. (My skin is still feeling terrible even though I’m on antihistamines.) I got to uni for my work placement and someone else was using my computer. A colleague kindly gave me his computer after he left to teach a class but it locked me out after 10 minutes. I then went through three laptops, the last of which finally worked. BUT it didn’t have the software I needed on it so I had to download that and it took 6 HOURS. I had finished my day by the time it had downloaded. So I had to go back to the work I’d been doing previously which I didn’t mind to be honest. The tram home was a nightmare because the University of Sheffield had won the varsity against Sheffield Hallam (Go #BlackAndGold!) and a lot of my fellow students were heading off to watch the final event, Ice Hockey, when I just wanted to go home and curl up in a ball.

Thursday was okay. I got my hair cut and my hairdresser is super talented and a lovely lady. She made my hair look perfect.

Friday brought more Funko Pop! figures into my life: Black Panther and War Machine.

Saturday was a weird day. I watched a TV programme about Lego and then Shakespeare Live on the BBC. I had a headache for most of the day though and I was kind of out of it until the late evening. I did manage to post my #Shakespeare400 posts though so I’m happy.

Today has been nice. Lazy and quiet.


Books I’ve read:

  • The Vampyre and Other Tales of the Macabre by John Polidori
  • A Slip Under the Microscope by H. G. Wells

This week’s posts:

This week saw the 400th anniversary of William Shakespeare’s death. As an Early Modern Literature student I love Shakespeare! I thought it would be cool to write some posts about my love for Shakespeare.


Last week’s to-do list:

  • Post a book review for Zofloya 
  • Post a book review for The Scorch Trials
  • Post a book review for The Death Cure
  • Write a book review for Tripwire
  • Write a book review for Northanger Abbey
  • Hand in my palaeography assignment

Done!

This week’s to-do list:

  • Post a book review for Northanger Abbey
  • Post a book review for Frankenstein
  • Plan a presentation for the Early Modern Forum
  • Present at the Early Modern Forum
  • Start planning my Gothic essay
  • Have a decent birthday.

I hope that everyone’s had a fantastic week and I hope that next week is a great week for you all!

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

15 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #27

  1. Oh dear, I hope the rash has gone away and you don’t have another reaction to anything this week.
    And of course Frankenstein is sci-fi! How can monkeying about with electricity and body parts to create a person not be sci-fi?!?!?!
    I enjoyed all your Shakespeare posts very much. And the “To be or not to be” sketch on last night’s Shakespeare live was superb. And I agree with Benedict and David: “To be or NOT to be; THAT is the question.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! It’s definitely a sci-fi novel but one of my fellow students wouldn’t listen to reason and the discussion got rather heated at one point. Oops.

      I loved Shakespeare Live. Judi Dench was the best bit of that sketch, when she came in with the skull. Wrong soliloquy! Also, ‘Eddie Redmayne’. It was all amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not visible anymore but I can still feel it 😦 I’m sure it’ll clear up by the end of next week.

      Yep, the second half way better. Thursday has potential for disaster since I hate having my hair cut but I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Frankenstein was IS TOTALLY Science Fiction! 🙂 what happen Tuesday at Palaeography??> [sorry HAD yo ask 🙂 ].

    At least the your hair looks perfect 😉 Weeks should only have good days 🙂 Hope next week is much better

    what happen Tuesday at Palaeography??? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that everyone agrees with me about Frankenstein. I’m going to show the other student all of the comments on this post to prove that I was right 🙂

      I just sort of had a meltdown. We were in the middle of transcribing a document and I just said ‘I can’t do this. I honestly can’t do this any more.’ And then I just stared at the document for the rest of the class. It was like my brain gave up and it was horrible :/

      I’m sure this week will be better! 🙂

      Like

    1. There isn’t. I don’t even know what genre the other student thought it was. I don’t think they had an answer.

      I hate having allergic reactions. Especially when I don’t know what caused it.

      I always have done since I was little. I think it’s because you really have no control over what they do to your hair. I had it cut last year and asked for 8 inches cutting off (my hair was super long) but she took 13 inches off and I hated it. It was too short for me at that time. And that experience just sort of confirmed all of my fears about having my hair cut.

      Like

      1. Your hair is one of your most striking features don’t hope you get a skilled hairdresser soon that regularly gets what you want.

        The only major literary debate I remember having was on the merits of The Bostonians. It’s like the rest of the class and I were reading different books!

        Like

Leave a Reply

