Books

WWW Wednesday – 27th April 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading:

EragonEragon by Christopher Paolini

I’ve finally started Eragon and I’m loving it!

I just can’t put it down and it’s wonderful. I can’t believe that it’s taken me so long to start it but it was worth the wait. I don’t think it’ll take me too long to read now because I’m genuinely enjoying it.

It also has a map in the front of the book which is always exciting!

Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling

This is the fourth book in my 2016 re-read challenge. I’ve enjoyed reading the first few Harry Potter books so far and Goblet of Fire is one of my favourite books in the series. It’s not too long and it’s not too short which means that it shouldn’t take me too long to read.

This is also the last book on my April TBR and I hope to have it completed by Saturday. No pressure!


Recently Finished:

The VampyreThe Vampyre by John William Polidori

What a captivating story! The title story is just amazing. It’s only 20 pgaes long but I really enjoyed it.

The other tales featured are also very good. It didn’t take me long to read them at all. If you’re into vampire stories or macabre stories then you should read this collection!

the night manager

The Night Manager by John le Carré

I’ve finally finished The Night Manager. Yay!

I loved this! Yes, it’s different to the BBC series but it’s still excellent. I loved the writing style and the narrative voice. I loved Jonathan Pine (I did read his speech in Tom Hiddleston’s voice though) and I loved Leonard Burr.

It’s a fantastic novel and I can’t wait to review it properly!

A Slip Under the MicroscopeA Slip Under the Microscope by H. G. Wells

Well, this was a weird little short story.

I expect great things from H. G. Wells but this wasn’t great. I love The Time Machine but this little book left a lot to be desired.

It only cost me 80p though so I’m not too bothered. I still enjoyed it. Just not as much as I thought I would. Hmm.


What I’m reading next:

the raven kingThe Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

This book has yet to arrive through my letter box (bloody Royal Mail!) but I’m so excited about reading it when it does arrive. I’m sad that the series is ending but I’m so excited too.

If Gansey dies I will cry. No doubt. I will also cry if anything happens to the other characters because I won’t be able to deal with it.

I haven’t been so excited for a new release in years.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

 

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 27th April 2016

  1. Hope you continue to enjoy Eragon. And good luck completely GoF by Saturday!
    Now I really, REALLY want to read the Night Manager. And I will. Then I’ll watch the miniseries for sure 🙂
    I’ve seen that a lot of people are worrying about who might die in The Raven King. I haven’t read the series myself but hope to one day. I hope it doesn’t pull at your heart too much 🙂
    Here’s my WWW: https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-the-fourth/
    Happy reading!

    Like

  2. I will be a wreck if anything happens to Gansey. I hope to read the book this weekend so we can all cry together if the worst happens!
    I’m so glad The Night Manager is good. I was eyeing it in Waterstones last weekend. I think I’m going to see if I can get it from the library because imagining Tom Hiddleston’s voice is not bad thing 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-27th-april-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m reading The Raven King tomorrow so I may spend the whole day in tears.

      You should definitely go for The Night Manager. It’s different but good. I want to read more books by le Carre too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goblet of Fire is my favorite in the series too. There’s a lot that happens and we meet two other schools which definitely excited my imagination. Also, this is the transitional book. I always fly through this one when I’m rereading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

