Books

April 2016 Recap

month recap

It’s the 30th of April which means that it’s time for my April Recap post!

This month has been incredibly busy and I’ve enjoyed every second. It’s been a great month for me in many different ways…


Personal

Okay, a quick run-down of this month’s events.

I went shopping on the 3rd of April and bought two Smashbox lipsticks in the shades Legendary and Violet Riot. I love them and I wear them both all the time. If I was a beauty blogger they’d both go in my ‘April Favourites’. I also saw Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice on the 3rd of April and I really enjoyed it. Sure, there were some things that I didn’t like about it but I thought that it was an enjoyable film.

I went to the dentist on the 7th of April. My teeth are in perfect condition, as always, and my dentist is such a nice lady.

University started again on the 11th of April. The Easter holidays passed far too quickly and I wasn’t ready to go back.

My palaeography assessment was due on the 12th of April and I hated it so much. I also had a meeting about my work placement on the 12th but that went really well.

I met my dissertation PhD mentor on the 15th. They’re there to help if you have any questions that your supervisor might not care about, like formatting etc. My mentor didn’t turn up. How useful is that.

I had another meeting about my work placement on the 19th. We sorted a lot of stuff out in that meeting so it was good.

I had my hair cut on the 21st and I love it. I usually hate having my hair cut but my hairdresser is wonderful and she makes my hair look amazing. I had it cut a bit shorter than normal and I love it. (I didn’t cry this time.)

On the 28th of April I did a short (10 minute) presentation about my work placement at a SCEMS (Sheffield Centre for Early Modern Studies) Early Modern Forum. I was super nervous but it’s a good thing to have on my CV.

Today I went shopping for my birthday present (my birthday is tomorrow) and I bought some Adidas Gazelles in “Ash” and I love them. It’s very different to what my parents gave me last year but I’m really happy with them.


Books I’ve bought/pre-ordered:

  • The Duchess of Malfi and Other Plays by John Webster
  • Five Revenge Tragedies edited by Emma Smith (I bought this for the play Antonio’s Revenge)
  • Doctor Faustus and Other Plays by Christopher Marlowe
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (I pre-ordered this ages ago but Amazon cancelled it. I had to buy it from Book Depository in the end.)
  • The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (Pre-order)
  • The Last Man by Mary Shelley
  • The Case-book of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
  • Femme Fatale by Guy de Maupassant
  • A Pair of Silk Stockings by Kate Chopin
  • Come Close by Sappho
  • The Tale-Tell Heart by Edgar Allen Poe
  • Dune by Frank Herbert
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Total: 16 books


Books I’ve read:

  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • Tripwire by Lee Child
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • The Night Manager by John le Carré
  • The Vampyre by John Polidori
  • Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
  • A Slip Under the Microscope by H. G. Wells

Total: 8 books

I’ll be reviewing these books in May so look out for them!


This Month in Posts:

So many posts! I’m very happy with this month’s posts.


Challenge Updates:


April Goals

  • Complete my first palaeography assessment
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Buy at least 1 book
  • Complete my April TBR
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Exercise at least 3 times per week
  • Complete my book challenges for this month

May Goals

  • Have a good birthday!
  • Buy at least 2 books
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • See X-Men: Apocalypse at the cinema
  • See Captain America: Civil War at the cinema
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Complete all of my university assignments
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Exercise at least 3 times per week

I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

Leave a Reply

