Books · Personal

May 2016 Recap

month recap

It’s the 31st of May which means that it’s time for my May Recap post!

This month has been so hectic. I haven’t had time to blog at all so this should be a very short post. I apologise for the lack of posts this month but I don’t think I’ll be back to blogging normally until next week.


Personal:

Okay, a quick run-down of this month’s events.

It was my 22nd birthday on the 1st of May! I saw Captain America: Civil War and it was good but it’s not my favourite Avengers film. Don’t even get me started on the news of Hydra!Cap in the new comics. I’m not impressed.

I completed my work placement on the 4th of May. I’ve loved every minute of it and I wish I could continue working there. Alas, I can’t. I spent 5 hours working on a blog post for the LDNA blog. It’s not an interesting blog at all but I’ll link anyone who wants to read it.

My last day of the spring semester at university was on the 10th. Now I’ve just got the summer semester to do. I’m terrified about finishing my MA. My palaeography assessment due on the 10th too. It was a 24 hour exam which meant that I had to spend all of the 9th on it. I hated my palaeography assignment.

My Gothic assignment was due on the 23rd. It was a 6,000 word essay on the ‘Passion of Older Women in Gothic Novels’ and I truly enjoyed writing it. If I wasn’t so into the Early Modern period then I’d choose to study Gothic texts all the time. I went to see X-Men: Apocalypse on the 23rd too. It was technically a treat for my mum’s birthday which was on the 21st. She loves the X-Men films so it was lucky that the new film came out so close to her birthday.

My final assignment was due on the 26th. It was just the evidence/log for my work placement along with a 3,000 word reflective essay. It’s a bit weird to write about your ‘personal journey’ but my I managed to make it into a slightly more academic essay with the help of my tutor.

I’m currently writing a conference paper for ‘The Marginal in the Early Modern’ which is a student conference for the White Rose universities (University of Sheffield, University of Leeds, and Univeristy of York’). My paper is meant to be 15 minutes long (about 2,000 words) but I’m stuck on about 12 minutes even if I speak slowly. The conference is in two days. Help me.


Books I’ve bought/pre-ordered:

  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Total: 5 books


Books I’ve read:

  • The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster
  • Antonio’s Revenge by John Marston
  • The Visitor by Lee Child
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • A Pair of Silk Stockings by Kate Chopin
  • The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Total: 7 books

I’m way behind on my reading and I didn’t stick to my TBR this month. Maybe June will be better.


Challenge Updates:


May Goals

  • Have a good birthday!
  • Buy at least 2 books
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • See X-Men: Apocalypse at the cinema
  • See Captain America: Civil War at the cinema
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Complete all of my university assignments
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Exercise at least 3 times per week

June Goals:

  • Exercise at least 3 times per week
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Speak at a student conference
  • Start writing my dissertation
  • Buy at least 2 books
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Complete my book challenges for this month

I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

 

Leave a Reply

