Books

WWW Wednesday – 1st June 2016

WWW Wed

I haven’t done a WWW Wednesday since April! Oops. 

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

echo burningEcho Burning by Lee Child

After loving The Visitor so much I just had to start the fifth Jack Reacher book. I haven’t got very far yet, I’ve only read a few chapters, but once I get into it I know that it’ll only take a few days to read at the most.

I should probably buy the sixth book, Without Fail, in anticipation of finishing this book because I can’t seem to get enough of these books at the moment.

hp and the order of the phoenixHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling

This is not my favourite HP book at all. In fact, it’s my least favourite book. I should have read this in May but I put it off so I’m starting it now.

If I can read this quickly then I can move onto Half Blood Prince which is one of the books that I enjoy most in the Harry Potter series.


Recently Finished (or; What I Read in May):

EragonEragon by Christopher Paolini

This is such a wonderful book and I can’t believe that it’s taken me so long to read it. I’m looking forward to starting Eldest in June.

It’s a book full of magic and adventure. I completely understand why people compare it to Lord of the Rings and Star Wars (well, not Star Wars because I’ve never seen the films) but any similarities didn’t spoil the book. So many books are incredibly similar nowadays that it honestly doesn’t matter to me.

the visitorThe Visitor by Lee Child

This is my favourite Jack Reacher book so far (even though I’ve only read 4!) and it’s such a gripping book.

One part of it did make me feel sick. I won’t reveal which bit because it’s a huge spoiler but it really touched a nerve for me. Eww.

It’s a great book and I hope that Echo Burning is just as good too. 

DuchessThe Duchess of Malfi by John Webster

I really like John Webster’s plays, especially The White Devil, and I read this one for my dissertation. It’s an excellent example of an Early Modern revenge tragedy and I hope to see it performed one day because I don’t think that reading it does the play justice at all.

I won’t be reviewing this book because it is part of my dissertation but once my dissertation is over I may do a post about it, along with my other favourite EM revenge tragedies.

antonio's revengeAntonio’s Revenge by John Marston

This is a weird play. I love that it’s a sequel to a comedy play (which I haven’t read and probably should) and that just gives it a completely different feel to the other tragedies that I’ve read.

Once again, I won’t be reviewing this play because it is part of my dissertation but it would feature in the post I talked about above.

the raven kingThe Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

I can’t believe that this series is over! I honestly can’t believe it. I was so emotionally invested in Gansey it’s unreal.

I really enjoyed this book. It wasn’t perfect but it was good. I’m looking forward to reviewing it, eventually, because it means that I’ll be able to go through the book looking for my favourite quotes.

a pair of silkA Pair of Silk Stockings by Kate Chopin

Five short stories for 80p. What’s not to love?

Okay, so two of the short stories made me feel uncomfortable due to their depictions of race but it’s interesting to see how Chopin depicted race and the ideas surrounding race during the late 19th century. I loved the title story though so that’s a plus.

I’ll be doing a short review on this book at some point.

Throne of Glass coverThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I don’t know what to make of this book. The main character really annoyed me. All she does is read. What on earth is that about? I didn’t mind the love triangle but I think that Dorian and Chaol should get together and forget about Celaena.

It wasn’t as good as I expected it to be but it’s grabbed my attention and I think I should read the sequel. However, I’ve heard bad things about the sequels (apparently badass female characters are killed off to further the main character’s story and I’m not here for that!) We’ll see.

The Woman in BlackThe Woman in Black by Susan Hill

I love books like The Woman in Black. I love the paranormal aspects to it. I loved the setting. I loved the ending. I loved that it shocked me. I just loved almost everything about it.

I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads but I’ll explain why in my review which will hopefully be posted sometime this month. I have so many reviews to write and edit.


What I’m reading next:

High-Rise by J. G. Ballard

High-RiseI originally wanted to read this book because of the film adaptation featuring Tom Hiddleston (which I still haven’t seen) but I’m really interested in this dystopian concept.

Blurb: Within the concealing walls of an elegant forty-storey tower block, the affluent tenants are hell-bent on an orgy of destruction. Cocktail parties degenerate into marauding attacks on ‘enemy’ floors and the once-luxurious amenities become an arena for riots and technological mayhem. In this visionary tale of urban disillusionment society slips into a violent reverse as the isolated inhabitants of the high-rise, driven by primal urges, create a dystopian world ruled by the laws of the jungle.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

 

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 1st June 2016

    1. The fourth book follows on from the third directly but I don’t think the others matter. I just like reading them in order.

      The stories are from the 1890s so I wasn’t surprised by the depiction of race and it wasn’t as bad as other books I’ve read. But it’s an accurate representation of racism in the South during that time.

      Like

      1. Yeah I was told it didn’t matter that’s why I was curious. I read the ones I was especially recommended but I’ll probably go back to the beginning now as it’s easier to keep track. Btw, check your Instagram ha.

        Like

    1. Me too! The Woman in Black just captivated my attention. I’m definitely looking forward to the dystopian nature of High Rise. I’m fine with it being a bit disturbing too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is one of my favorites in the series as well. I have mixed feelings about Order of the Phoenix. I’ve heard several people say it’s the book that turned them off the series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

