Books · Personal

June 2016 Recap

month recap

It’s the end of June and I haven’t been around much. I’m going to do a quick recap post even though I’ve only done a few posts this month.

I won’t be back to blogging properly until September (even though there will be a post tomorrow). Sorry.


Personal:

Not much has happened this month. I’ve been stuck writing my dissertation for the whole month but here’s a quick run down of the things I’ve done this month.

2nd June 2016 – I took part in a student conference about Marginality in the Early Modern Era and I really enjoyed it. I hate public speaking but it wasn’t too bad. My paper was fairly different to the others because I focused heavily on the texts I was referring to rather than the background historical information. But I still enjoyed it.

21st June 2016 – I exchanged my holiday money (even though I don’t go until October) because we knew that Brexit would cause turmoil and I got a pretty good deal. I’m glad I did it because it was at $1.45 for every £1 and now it’s at $1.34/$1.35. Maybe it’ll go back up slightly before I go away but who knows. Obviously you don’t get that rate for currency because travel agents have to make money on it but I don’t think it’s that bad at the moment. Also, the Euro rate isn’t as bad as when I went to Italy in 2010 or even Spain in 2014. I don’t know. The currency was hiked up far too much before the referendum and that’s why it looks so bad now. Maybe it’ll continue to decline. Who knows. Moving on…

23rd June 2016 – I voted in the EU Referendum. Yay for democracy. Kind of.

24th June 2016 – Brexit happened. Sort of. I still don’t think that we’ll ever leave the EU but I genuinely don’t care if we do or don’t. I’m over it. The aftermath has been absurd and slightly hilarious. Apparently democracy doesn’t matter if you don’t get the result you wanted. Let’s just have referendum after referendum until we get the ‘right’ outcome. We just need to accept the vote and unite as a nation to ensure that we don’t collapse. Anyway, it’s not really relevant to continue writing about this.

That’s it. It was a crazy month in some ways but a boring one in other ways.


Books I’ve bought/pre-ordered:

  • The Hard Way by Lee Child
  • Personal by Lee Child

Total:  2 books


Books I’ve read:

  • Echo Burning
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  • High-Rise
  • Brave New World
  • The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde

Total: 7 books

Books I abandoned:

  • The Knife of Never Letting Go

Total: 1 book

I may finish The Knife of Never Letting Go (and the rest of the series) one day, especially since I’ve read 75% of it, but I had to put it down because it made me feel physically sick.


Challenge Updates:


June Goals

  • Exercise at least 3 times per week
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Speak at a student conference
  • Start writing my dissertation
  • Buy at least 2 books
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Complete my book challenges for this month

July Goals

  • Lose 4lbs
  • Write the second draft of my dissertation
  • Don’t buy any books
  • Complete my book challenges for this month

I lost 6lbs this month! I’m happy with my progress. Reading got put on a back burner this month due to my dissertation, illness, and even the referendum (which was very distracting). I read almost all of my TBR for this month during the past couple of days. July will have a much smaller TBR because of my dissertation.


I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

Leave a Reply

