Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 2nd August 2016

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Only 10 books? That’s impossible. I’d probably buy lots of Penguin clothbound editions of books I already own but I’m going to go with 10 new books that I’d buy for this list.

I know that I’m on hiatus at the moment but I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday because this is how my dissertation is going this morning:

kuzco's poison

and I’m losing my mind. So, I decided to write a post while my brain wakes up.

All images and book titles take you to Goodreads but other links are to booksellers such as Amazon or Book Depository. 


animal farm1. Animal Farm by George Orwell

I have wanted to read this since I picked up 1984 as a teenager. I’ve never gotten around to actually buying it though so it would be the first book in my shopping basket if someone gave me a gift card. Actually, I will be buying it this month because it’s on my TBR for August. I probably should have bought it before adding it to my TBR for this month. I wonder how much it is on Amazon…

the aeneid2. Aeneid by Virgil (Vol. 1 and Vol. 2)

I’ve read Virgil’s epic poem before and I love it. I specifically want these editions because they’re the editions I used at university and they’re amazing. I love that the original Latin and the translated text are side by side and it just feels a bit more authentic than the Penguin edition. The Penguin edition is totally fine though. There’s nothing wrong with it at all. I just prefer these editions. I’m too picky I guess. If I didn’t buy the Loeb editions then I’d buy the Oxford World’s Classic edition because I love that collection of books and they look great on my book shelves.

the lathe of heaven3. The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin

I really love Ursula Le Guin’s work and The Lathe of Heaven is the next book by her that I want to buy. I’ve already read sections of it and I think it’s great. I’d recommend The Left Hand of Darkness to anyone and I’m sure I’ll feel the same about this book too once it’s in my possession. I don’t really have a specific edition in mind for this book. Any will do. I’ve linked to the SF Masterworks edition because it looks cool. That’s my only reason.

three moments of an explosion4. Three Moments of an Explosion by China Miéville

Ideally, I’d buy all of the China Miéville books that I don’t own to complete my collection. I am very slow when it comes to reading his books though since I like to savour (read: understand) them fully. So, I’d choose to buy this collection of stories with my gift card because I really enjoy his shorter stories and the cover is really cool. I’d also buy Looking for Jake with the same gift card because that’s a collection of (very weird) short stories.

American Gods cover5. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

American Gods has been on my TBR for so long and I’d really love to read it before the TV show airs next year. The only other book I’ve read by Gaiman is Good Omens which was a collaboration with Terry Pratchett so I don’t know what his work is actually like. It looks fantastic though and I just can’t wait to read it. I’ll have to wait though. Until I have more money.

we6. We by Yevgeny Zamyatin

This book has been on my ‘to buy’ list for years. Probably longer than Animal Farm has been on my ‘to buy’ list. I just keep buying other books instead. I don’t know why but I plan on buying it before 2017. Or maybe in early 2017. I have a new rule to stick to, you see, and I can only buy a book after I’ve read 5 of the books that are already on my shelves. Hopefully that will dramatically cut the amount that I spend on books per year but it’s not a blanket book buying ban. We will have to wait until I’ve read more of the books I already own.

LotR7. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien (specifically this box set)

I do not have a copy of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, either in one book or separate books, and that is a travesty. I have read them but I borrowed them from a friend. I would like to read them again and actually own a set of the books. I chose this set (which includes The Hobbit) because it looks lovely. The leather-bound pocket editions look beautiful too but I don’t think I’d be able to read the pocket editions.

Cloud Atlas cover8. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

I’ve heard both good and bad things about this book but the reason I want to buy it is because I saw the film with Ben Whishaw in it and so I need to read this book. I don’t know how I’ll react to the book, or if I’ll be able to follow it properly the first time I read it, but I am very much looking forward to reading it. One day. The cover is very pretty too so that’s always a bonus.

More than This9. More Than This by Patrick Ness

Okay, so I enjoyed The Rest of Us Just Live Here but I honestly hated The Knife of Never Letting Go so I’d buy this book to give Patrick Ness another chance. I really hope that I’ll love this book when I do buy it because I don’t want another DNF on my list. I’ve heard great things about the book though so that’s promising. I just really want to like it. I should put my expectations to one side because expectations lead to disappointment.

wide sargasso sea10. Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

This is a bit of a random one. I saw a girl on a train reading it and I was intrigued. So I asked her if she was enjoying it and she couldn’t stop gushing about it. That was two years ago and I still haven’t bought it. It’s a post-colonial prequel to Jane Eyre and that just sounds so interesting. Post-colonialism was one of my interests at university that I was never able to fully explore (unless you count my essay on post-colonial readings of The Tempest and why they’re anachronistic but I don’t). I wont read it until next year but I’m sure that I’m going to enjoy it.


That’s it! Which books would you buy if you were given a loaded gift card? I could have gone on forever with the books that I’d like to buy but these are my top 10.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 2nd August 2016

  1. I will put in a recommendation to read American Gods ASAP. Great book!

    And I read Animal Farm in high school but I think I would like to read it again now that I’m…well, a bit more mature. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both of them are very high on my TBR but I have so many books to read. So American Gods will have to wait until I’ve finished a few that I already own 😦

      Like

    1. The girl I met was in the middle of reading it so perhaps she judged it too soon? Or maybe she was just happy that someone was talking to her about books. But it does sound like a very interesting book 🙂

      Like

    1. I really like his writing style. It was mainly the subject of The Knife of Never Letting Go that I didn’t like. So I think that I’ll like his other books. And thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Lord of Rings is one that I didn’t have for the longest time either- I read them (and owned them), lost the books somehow, and only recently acquired paperback versions again. It would be nice to have a truly good set.

    Like

  3. I read Cloud Atlas and fall on the didn’t like it side. Be interested on your take though. Animal Farm is just incredible. Books that represent far more than they initially appear are just wonderful.

    Btw, The Third Man is on BBC2 today at 1pm. Just wanted to let you know in case you were able to see it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

