Books · Personal

August 2016 Recap

month recap

The first half of August was constant stress. The second half of August was lovely. I got back from London about half an hour ago and I’m super tired right now so there may be some mistakes in this. Sorry.

Here’s my recap of August 2016…


Personal:

Quick run-down of my month:

  • 1st August – I met Maggie Stiefvater at a book signing at Manchester Central Library. The library is beautiful and I had never visited it before. Maggie is so funny. The talk before the signing had everyone in stitches as she spoke about her ‘docile child’ and ‘evil child’. If I had the chance to attend another of her signings in the future then I wouldn’t hesitate to go.
  • 17th August – I handed in my dissertation. Yay! 🎉
  • 23rd August – I saw Suicide Squad at the cinema. It was good and I did enjoy it a lot. I just didn’t like Jared Leto as Joker. Shame. I wasn’t too annoyed though because I had 2 for 1 cinema tickets!
  • 28th August – I bought a new camera. Well, I put a third of the money in for it. So, my family are now the proud owners of a beautiful Canon EOS 750D DSLR. I love it.
  • 30th August – I travelled to London to see Macbeth and A Midsummer Night’s Dream at the Globe Theatre so watch out for a post about that in the next couple of days!
  • 31st August – I spent the day in London and visited the National Gallery.

I didn’t do much this month but London was amazing. I needed a break after completing my Masters degree.


Posts:


Books I’ve read:

  • Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters
  • Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse
  • Animal Farm
  • Come Close
  • Sharp Objects

Total: 5 books

Books I’m reading: 

  • Brisingr

Total: 1 book

Books I’ve Bought:

  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • The Prince by Niccolò Machiavelli
  • Discourses on Livy by Niccolò Machiavelli

Total: 3 books

Technically, the two Machiavelli books don’t count because they were for university.


Challenge Updates:


August Goals

  • Meet Maggie Stiefvater
  • Complete and hand in my dissertation
  • Enjoy watching Macbeth and A Midsummer Night’s Dream at The Globe
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Start job hunting
  • Stick to a new book buying rule: Read 5 books, Buy 1 book. So, after I’ve read 5 books I can buy a new book. This will hopefully curb my book buying habits but also keep my TBR list at a healthy level. I’ve decided to change this to a ‘Read 3, Buy 1’ rule because I realised that I’d run out of books to read very quickly.

September Goals:

  • Continue job hunting
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Post at least 4 book reviews
  • Stick to the ‘Read 3, Buy 1’ rule

Instagram:

This month I took part in two photo challenges on Instagram. The first was the #challengebookamajig hosted by @readsleepfangirl@booksthetics@alittlebookworld, and @booknerd_reads. The second was the #quoththeaugustbookchallenge hosted by @quoththebooklover.

august recap insts


I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

One thought on “August 2016 Recap

Leave a Reply

