Books

WWW Wednesday – 7th September 2016

WWW Wed

I’m back with the first WWW Wednesday of the month. I haven’t done one of these since June. It’s very exciting to be back.

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

All links take you to Goodreads.


Currently reading:

The buried giantThe Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

I started this book over the weekend and I’m just over half way through it. I’m just going to start Part 3 of this book and I think that it’s been pretty good so far. I’m looking forward to reading the end within the next few days and then reviewing it. I plan to have a review up of this book before the 21st of September since that gives me about two weeks to plan, write, and edit the review.

I will say one thing about this book though: it was not what I expected. I should have probably read an online summary before but I don’t think that I would have bought it and that would have been such a shame.

BrisingrBrisingr by Christopher Paolini

I’ve been reading this book since August and I just haven’t made any progress on it. At all. It’s very large and very slow and I just can’t seem to get into it. I’ve read so little of this book that I haven’t actually marked any progress on Goodreads yet. It’s a bit sad to be honest especially since I enjoyed the first book in this series so much. The books are just a bit too long for me.

I have so many other books that I want to read this month that this book will probably get shoved to the bottom of the pile and I imagine that it’s going to be a very slow read. I was planning to review Eragon, Eldest, and Brisingr at the same time but it doesn’t look like that will happen now.

Les Mis coverLes Misérables by Victor Hugo

I tried reading this last year but I was easily distracted. I also tried reading it earlier this year but I just couldn’t concentrate on it at all. Since I’m not working during September, because I don’t have a job yet, I will finish this book before the end of the month. I started it on the 1st of September and I planned to read at least 2 ‘books’ of Les Mis per day whilst also reading other books. I’m currently in the middle of ‘book’ 13 out of 48 and I’ve been reading this book for 7 days which means that I’m on target so far. Just one ‘book’ left to read today.


Recently Finished:

PJ 4Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

This book was part of my re-read challenge which I have almost completed now. Just three books left to re-read! I’m so glad that I took on a challenge like this because it has been nice to go back to some of my favourite series’.

Anyways, this used to be my least favourite book of the series but after my recent re-read I have finally fallen in love with the book. I think that the myths and characters that Riordan chose for this book are excellent. I have written the review for this book but I haven’t edited it yet. It will be posted in a few days along with all of the other reviews for the Percy Jackson books.

PJ 5Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

This was always one of my favourites in the series, after the Titan’s Curse, because Percy is finally 16 and the prophecy is imminent. I just think that this book is fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed re-reading it. I just really enjoy reading Rick Riordan novels which is good because I own a lot of them.

I will be posting a review for this in the next few days. I have half of the review written and I will be writing the other half after posting this WWW Wednesday post. All of my Percy Jackson and the Olympians reviews will go up together, maybe over two days or so, because reviewing the series together just seems logical to me.


What I’m reading next:

The Shipping NewsThe Shipping News by Annie Proulx

I was recommended this book by a tumblr user so long ago and I bought it immediately with every intention of reading it. I’m finally going to read this book in September, almost 18 months after I bought it, and I’m really looking forward to it.

I’ll probably start it after I’ve finished reading The Buried Giant and I really want to read it within a couple of days of starting it. That means that I’ll probably have a review up for this book before the end of the month because I just really want to have this read and reviewed very soon.

King Rat coverKing Rat by China Miéville

I probably shouldn’t be starting this book since I still haven’t completed Kraken but I’m hoping that reading this book will help me get back into reading Kraken. It probably won’t but who knows. I’m planning to start this one sometime next week and I really only want to spend about a week or so reading it because if I drag it out then I’ll just never finish it.

I’m guessing that there’s a giant rat in this book, much like Kraken is about a giant squid, but you never know with China so I am so prepared to be proven wrong.

the valley of fearThe Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle

I’ll probably start this book at the same time as King Rat because this book is very short and it’ll be a nice break from King Rat. I don’t think that it’ll take me very long to read, maybe a few days at the most, and I’m very much looking forward to reading it. I plan to have finished reading all of the Sherlock Holmes stories by the end of the year and I’m reading the last three (including this one) in Autumn/Winter because Elementary starts again soon in the UK and I need lots of Sherlock Holmes in my life. I think that I’ll start this over the weekend.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 7th September 2016

  1. Sorry to hear Brisingr is slow going. I’ve heard those books are mostly good but can be draggy at times. And the Percy Jackson books look so fun- as a fan of mythology I’m not sure why I haven’t read them yet but I need to get on that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brisingr is a very long book and I just can’t seem to get into it. Which is a shame because I really enjoyed Eragon and I liked Eldest too. I like Rick Riordan’s take on mythology 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

