Books

Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Sea of MonstersTitle: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Mythology
Date: 
2007 (2006)
Publisher: Puffin
Pages: 265
Started: 3rd August 2016
Completed: 4th August 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea. Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.


The Sea of Monsters is the second book in Rick Riordan’s series known as Percy Jackson and the Olympians. It is preceded by The Lightning Thief which I reviewed yesterday. I decided to re-read this whole series in 2016 so that I could review them. It had been a few years (maybe 5 or so) since I last read them so I thought that it was about time to crack them open again. I’ll be reviewing the last three books over the next couple of days.

The Sea of Monsters was adapted into a film, which I have not seen, in 2013. Logan Lerman played the main role of Percy Jackson and the film also featured Alexandra Daddario and Brandon T. Jackson.


I liked a lot about The Sea of Monsters. One of the main things that I enjoyed was the development of original characters and the introduction of new characters. I was happy to see that Clarisse got a little more ‘screen time’ because she is one of my favourite half-bloods (mainly because she doesn’t like Percy). I really liked the development of her character as she is so eager to prove herself to her father, Ares, who is absolutely awful to her. The introduction of Tyson really broke my heart. It was so sad and I hated how Percy treated him to begin with. Tyson is such a lovable character and he even befriends a hippocampus called Rainbow. So cute. The Party Ponies are also a great addition to the book.

I also really enjoyed the plot of this novel. I loved the idea of the Golden Fleece and the journey to a place known as ‘the sea of monsters’ which is actually the home of Scylla and Charybdis, two very famous monsters from Greek mythology. Annabeth’s encounter with the sirens is really interesting as she learns her ‘fatal flaw’.

The end of the book was great. It was almost a cliffhanger but not quite. It did leave me wanting more though and I couldn’t wait to start reading the next book.

Rick Riordan’s writing style is fast paced, enjoyable, and very easy to read. Perfect for children and teenagers but also adults. The book isn’t too long either which is great because so many young adult novels are 500+ pages and it’s not always appropriate whereas this book is less than 300 pages which is a perfect length in my opinion.


circe_offering_the_cup_to_odysseusOne thing that I didn’t like was the Circe section in the plot of The Sea of Monsters. I didn’t enjoy it at all but I have good reasons for that.

I love Circe, she’s one of my favourite ‘characters’ from Greek mythology but I don’t feel like this section does her justice. It seems rushed and she’s too easily defeated in my opinion. I just wasn’t impressed with how she was depicted in this book.

There’s so much art and literature about Circe, including the painting by John William Waterhouse (shown on the right) and I think that it’s such a shame that her role in Greek mythology is just glossed over. The whole guinea pig thing that Riordan goes for just really annoyed me. I’m far too attached to the story of Circe and I just wish that he hadn’t included Circe at all.


I’d definitely recommend this book to children, teenagers, and adults alike. I think that the plot is fantastic and it’s a great way to interact with Greek mythology.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

