Books

Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Titan's CurseTitle: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Young Adult / Mythology / Fantasy 
Date:
2008 (2007)
Publisher: Puffin
Pages: 294
Started: 5th August 2016
Completed: 6th August 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: It’s not everyday you find yourself in combat with a half-lion, half-human.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…


The Titan’s Curse is the third book in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I decided to re-read and review the whole series in 2016 and the last two reviews will be available to read tomorrow. I’ve already reviewed The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters.

It has not been officially confirmed whether or not there will be a film adaptation of The Titan’s Curse even though the first two books were made into films in 2010 and 2013.


The Titan’s Curse is a book that I really enjoyed. I enjoyed it just as much as I enjoyed The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters.

atlas-santiagp

I really liked Riordan’s introduction of Artemis and Apollo. I loved that they were depicted as bickering siblings, arguing about who was the older twin etc., even though they’re millennia old. The introduction of Thalia was excellent too. I liked that she was very awkward and that she didn’t get along with Percy to start with. The last two major characters that were introduced were Bianca and Nico. I’ve always liked their story and they’re just really great characters.

The plot of The Titan’s Curse is very interesting. I loved Riordan’s use of the Atlas myth but also his allusions to Hercules and other myths. It was a very clever blend of different mythological stories and they all worked well within the modern plot. I was also glad that it wasn’t set during the summer! It’s set in December, just 6 months after The Sea of Monsters, and the winter setting makes it more interesting in my opinion.

I also enjoyed the prophecy in this book which forces the Hunters and the demi-gods to work together even though they don’t get along. It created a new dynamic that wasn’t in the first two books and it was more interesting to read about two opposing groups coming together fulfill a prophecy.

Riordan’s writing is easy to read and very enjoyable. There’s a lot of action in the book which makes it a quick read as it keeps you interested. This book is suitable for all ages and genders because Riordan makes his writing so accessible.


There are a couple of plot points that I didn’t like. I’ll try to explain these points without revealing spoilers. So, the first are the sudden decisions to join Artemis’ Hunters. Both decisions seem a bit weird to me and they’re just so sudden. I wouldn’t take an oath like that so quickly.

The second plot point that I didn’t enjoy is Bianca’s fate. I really liked Bianca as a character because she was so different to Nico. I felt like she was used to further Nico’s character development.


Overall, this book is a great! I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would recommend it to anyone, especially if they love mythology like I do! It’s suitable for all ages, well maybe not very young children, and genders as I stated earlier which is great as some young adult novels are very gender and age specific. Riordan’s choice of myths in this book is excellent and they really work well together to form an interesting and enjoyable plot.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

