Books

WWW Wednesday – 14th September 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

All links take you to Goodreads.


Currently Reading:

King Rat coverKing Rat by China Miéville

I started this book yesterday after finishing The Shipping News and I’ve read about 80 pages so far.

I really think that reading King Rat will help me finish Kraken, a China Miéville book that I started earlier this year but have yet to finish, because this one seems to be a much easier read and it’s helped me get back into reading China Miéville’s writing and I’m used to his style again now. King Rat is a very odd book but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read so far and I’m looking forward to reading another 80 or so pages tonight.

the valley of fearThe Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle

I’m really enjoying this book so far. It’s great, much like the other Sherlock Holmes novels and short stories are, and I think it’s one of my favourite Holmes stories. I’ve read 82% of it and I only started it yesterday. I should have finished this by tomorrow. It has just been a really quick, enjoyable read so far and I’m sure that it won’t change in the last couple of chapters.

I really want to start His Last Bow now but I have so many other books to read this month so I’ll have to wait until October to continue this series. I hope that His Last Bow is as enjoyable to read as The Valley of Fear has been.

Les Mis coverLes Misérables by Victor Hugo

I’m still reading this beast of a book. It’s just huge and it’s an epic task to read it. I’m still reading two books/chapters per day. I call them ‘books’ because each book has so many chapters within it. So, part one is called ‘Fantine’ and within ‘Fantine’ you have 8 books and ‘Book I’ of ‘Fantine’ has 14 chapters in it. It’s all a bit annoying to be honest.

Anyways, I’m currently on the 27th book of Les Mis which is book 3 of part 4. I’m on page 756. Wow, this is such a long book. I’m really enjoying it though. It’s amazing and if you have the time to dedicate to it then you should read it.

BrisingrBrisingr by Christopher Paolini

I still haven’t made much progress on this book because my time has been consumed by Les Mis. I’ve just finished chapter _ so I’ve only read % so far.

I’m considering abandoning this book until a later time but since I’m not planning on reading the last book in the series, Inheritance, I’d really like to read this book as quickly as possible and put the series to bed. It’s just very long and there’s so little action in this book so far. I mean, I love dragons and magic and fantasy worlds but I need a reason to keep reading. I don’t want to mark this book as a DNF so I’m determined to finish it eventually. It’ll just take me much longer than I expected it to.


Recently Finished:

The buried giantThe Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

I really enjoyed this book. It was odd but it was great. I understand why a lot of people on Goodreads don’t like it though because it’s a slow book and the plot is just weird. I liked that though and I didn’t think that it was a really slow read because compared to Les Mis and Brisingr it’s not. It did take me 6 days to read it though so I guess it is a pretty slow read.

I’m currently in the middle of editing my review of The Buried Giant so it should be up sometime next week. I have other reviews planned for the rest of this week so it’ll definitely not go up this week.

The Shipping NewsThe Shipping News by Annie Proulx

I started this book immediately after completing The Buried Giant and I read it in just a few days! It’s been on my TBR since January 2015 and I’m sort of sad that I waited so long to read it. It’s a really great book and I thoroughly enjoyed it, much more than I expected to, and it touches on some really interesting themes and ideas.

Since I only finished it yesterday I haven’t even started writing my review yet. I hope to have the review up sometime next week though so look out for it.


What I’m reading next:

Tipping the Velvet coverTipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters

I was meant to read this book during my final semester of undergrad but I’d already chosen my essay topic before this book was meant to be read and discussed so I just didn’t bother reading it. Plus, I really hated the module so I did as little work as possible for it. So, I’m planning on reading it now, in September 2016, over a year after I was supposed to read it.

I think that I’m going to star it tomorrow because I will have finished The Valley of Fear by tomorrow. I don’t know if I’m going to like this book or not. I’m simply reading it because I own it and it’s been sitting on my shelf for a while.

The House of Hades coverThe House of Hades by Rick Riordan

It’s time for Nico to have his time in the spotlight! It’s been months since I read The Mark of Athena and I can’t believe I’ve waited so long to read The House of Hades. It wasn’t the plan but that’s just how life has worked. I can’t wait to start this book though because I really enjoyed the previous books in the series and finishing my Percy Jackson and the Olympians re-read just got me in the mood to read more Percy Jackson books.

I’ll be starting this book straight after I’ve finished reading King Rat and it’ll probably take me about a week to read this book since it’s fairly large.

Robinson CrusoeRobinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I’m reading this book for my monthly prompt challenge and this month’s prompt is read a book given to me by my parents. My parents bought me a mid-19th century edition of this book for Christmas a few years ago and I was worried about reading it because it’s so old. Since then I’ve handled and worked with books that were printed in the 15th and 16th centuries so I’m used to handling much more fragile books than this one.

My edition is split into 8 sections, I imagine that most editions are the same, so I’m going to read one section per day when I start it. I’ll start it after I’ve finished one of my other books, possibly Tipping the Velvet.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 14th September 2016

  1. Sherlock Holmes is amazing! Now I want to reread the stories again 🙂
    Les Mis is one of my favourite books. It’s a monster of a novel, but it is such an inspiring read! Good luck getting through it and I hope you enjoy it!
    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s huge! My edition is over 1200 pages long and I didn’t realise just how big it was when I bought it. I’m really enjoying it though. I think that it might become one of my favourite novels 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

