Books

A to Z of Books I’d Like to Read

A-Z of Books.jpg

Here’s a quick list of books I’d like to read from A to Z. If a title starts with ‘The’ then the first letter of the second word is used to determine which letter the book is catergorised under.

American Psycho coverA – American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

I’ve wanted to read American Psycho since I was about 16 but I’ve always avoided buying it. I don’t know why I’m nervous about reading it but I hope to overcome that feeling soon because I really do want to read it. The plot is just really intriguing and I know so many people who love this book. I really want to love it too.

The Book Thief coverB – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I first became aware of this book when the film adaptation was released way back in 2013 but I never bought the book. A friend then used it in her BA dissertation and her writing really encouraged me to read it. We discussed it fairly often too and she really loved the book. Unfortunately, I just haven’t picked it up yet despite the fact that I really want to read it. Maybe I’ll buy it and read it in 2017.

CinderC – Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I’ve read so many reviews of this book on wordpress and instagram and that’s the reason I want to read it. I love updated fairytales too so I thought it would be a great book to read. I’ve also decided that I want to read more books written by women, no matter what genre they’re in, so this book fits that criteria too. It just seems like a great book and although it’s out of my reading comfort zone I am looking forward to reading it in the near future.

Dexter is Dead coverD – Dexter is Dead by Jeff Lindsay

This is the final book in the Dexter series and the only one that I haven’t read. I may re-read the whole series before reading the final book but I might not. I do really enjoy reading this series and I’m sort of sad that it’s over. Eight books is enough for any series though so I guess that it couldn’t have gone on for much longer. I don’t know whether to buy the paperback or hardback version though since my collection is a mixture of the two.

east of edenE – East of Eden by John Steinbeck

I’ve never read a Steinbeck book before even though I know that Of Mice and Men is very famous and it used to be on the GCSE syllabus for the UK. I am reading The Grapes of Wrath soon and I’d like to read this book too. East of Eden sounds incredibly interesting and I love the idea of setting it in so many different time frames. I’ll probably avoid Of Mice and Men though.

the fever codeF – The Fever Code by James Dashner

I’ve already read the Maze Runner trilogy and I really enjoyed it. This is the second prequel that Dashner wrote and I was slightly wary about reading both this and The Kill Zone because prequels are a bit hit and miss usually. However, it’s been a while since I finished the original trilogy so I’m looking forward to revisiting Dashner’s dystopian world and learning more about WICKED and The Flare.

The Girl on the Train coverG- The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This is another book that I’ve been inspired to read after reading several very positive reviews here on wordpress and over on instagram. I won’t be able to read it before the film adaptation is released but I’ll probably read it before the DVD comes out whenever that may be. I’ve heard very good things about this book and I hope that it lives up to the hype. I’m sure that it will. Hopefully.

The House of MirthH – The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

I’ve never read a book by Edith Wharton before but this book just intrigues me. It’s about a beautiful, but impoverished socialite who is in search of a husband in late 19th century New York. She wants to be restored to her former wealth and status but she becomes isolated from society. It’s not a book that I’d usually pick up but it just really interests me. I don’t even know why.

I'll Give You the SunI – I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I asked some of my friends about the best books they’d recently read and one of my friends adored this book and she recommended it to me. The cover is beautiful and the plot seems really interesting so I’m going to give it a go. I hope that I’ll like it but it’s not a book that I’d usually buy (and it’s recommended for fans of John Green and I’m not one) but we’ll see.

Jurassic ParkJ – Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

Why do I want to read this? Who knows. I like dinosaurs. That’s the only reason. I do like Jurassic Park but it’s not my favourite film ever. I just want to see how it plays out in the form of a book and how the film differs from the book. Maybe I’ll enjoy the book more than I ever enjoyed the film. I’ve read some positive reviews on Goodreads that claim that the book is much better than the film so I hope that my experience lives up to the reviews.

KindredK – Kindred by Octavia Butler

Octavia Butler is an amazing writer and Kindred seems like such an interesting plot. I’ve read actual slave narratives before so it’d be interesting to see how Butler’s imagined slave memoir compares to the actual accounts that I’ve read. I’ve always been interested in this type of narrative but I’ve never read a fictional account before so this book should be an interesting read. It’ll probably break my heart though. It has got some weird aspects to it though, like time travel, so I don’t know how that will work.

LegendL – Legend by Marie Lu

This is another book that I’ve seen multiple times on wordpress and instagram. I think it’s because the cover is fairly photogenic but I like the cover and I also like the premise. It seems to be about the break up of the USA and the emergence of a Republic that is constantly at war. This book has so many amazing reviews and I really want to read it. It’s part of a series too so I’d have to read the sequels if this book is good.

middlemarchM – Middlemarch by George Elliot

I can’t believe that I’ve never read this book, especially considering the modules I took during my undergraduate degree. I’d really like to read it though. It includes themes of  women, marriage, idealism, self-interest, religion, hypocrisy, political reform, and education in 19th century England and it just sounds like a novel that I’d enjoy reading. I also like the fact that it’s set in the Midlands because books aren’t usually set in that part of England.

neverwhereN – Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I’ve only ever read Good Omens by Neil Gaiman which was a collaboration with the late Terry Pratchett but I do want to read both American Gods and Neverwhere. This book is set in London but it’s not the London we know. It’s a tale of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet. Gaiman just seems to write really interesting novels and I can’t wait to buy this book and read it.

The Once and Future KingO – The Once and Future King by T.H. White

I love Arthurian legends so much. I just really, really love them. I just can’t get enough of the novels and poetry that stems from the legends of my country about Knights and Kings and Destiny. This is a classic book full of retellings of classic tales and it looks wonderful. I don’t know anyone who has read this book so if you have then please let me know what you think!

passengerP – Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I can’t believe how many of the books on this list come from posts I’ve seen on instagram. This is another book that I first encountered on instagram but I’ve also seen it on wordpress and tumblr. Once again, this book is incredibly photogenic but it also seems like an interesting read. I’ve read both good and bad reviews but I still want to see what all of the fuss was about to begin with. If I hate it then at least I’ll have a pretty book that I can use in my instagram photos.

queen of shadowsQ – Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve only read the first book in this series but I do plan on reading the others. The first book didn’t amaze me but it did catch my interest enough to make me want to read the rest of the series. Queen of Shadows is the 4th book in the series so it’ll be a while until I get to it. I need to read Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire next but I don’t know when I’ll be able to read them.

Rivers of LondonR – Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

I first encountered this book over on Claire’s blog @ Art and Soul and her review inspired me to add this book to my TBR. I still haven’t read it but I do want to. It’s about a guy who is a member of a special branch of London’s Met Police and he deals with the supernatural crimes that plague London. It sounds very interesting and I’m sure that I’ll enjoy it when I do eventually read it.

The ShiningS – The Shining by Stephen King

The Shining is probably the most iconic Stephen King novel and I’ve never read it. I haven’t seen the film either. I’m looking forward to having nightmares after reading this novel I want to have nightmares after reading a good horror novels. I hope that reading The Shining will be the start of my love for Stephen King novels and I’d love to read more in the future. I am considering reading Insomnia first though.

tinker tailorT – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carré

I read The Night Manager earlier in the year (and I watched the BBC mini series too) and I really liked le Carré’s writing style. Tinker, Tailor, Solider, Spy is one of those iconic books that I just feel like I need to read. It’s set during the Cold War, like many of le Carré’s novels, and it’s a time period that I haven’t read much about so it makes for an interesting read.

Un Lun DunU – Un Lun Dun by China Miéville

I love China Miéville’s books. I can’t recommend them enough. I’m currently reading King Rat and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. Un Lun Dun is a stand-alone novel which is initially set in London bu the main character and her friend find an entrance to another city called Un Lun Dun. This city is very weird and it is awaiting a hero that was prophecised long ago.

Rights of WomanV – A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft

Mary Wollstonecraft is one of my favourite women in history. She was amazing and she was Mary Shelley’s mother. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman talks about education and independence for women during the 18th century as she reacted to the French Revolution and the Rights of Man. I’ve read extracts of this essay before but I really want to read the whole text.

weW – We by Yevgeny Zamyatin

This book has been on my TBR for years and I still haven’t bought it. It’s a dystopian novel and it probably inspired George Orwell’s 1984 which is one of my favourite books. Everyone is just a Number in We and that phrase haunts people to this day as we struggle with our lives as individuals but also as part of a Capitalist machine.

X

ZeroesZ – Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

Zeroes is another book that I first saw on wordpress. I’ve read several reviews, some good and some bad, but the premise intrigues me. It features six teenagers from California that have powers that set them apart from society. The book is a collaboration between three authors and I’m looking forward to seeing how these authors work together.


I didn’t forget to add in a book that begins with ‘x’ or ‘y’. I just don’t know any! Does anyone have any recommendations for those two letters?

 

12 thoughts on “A to Z of Books I’d Like to Read

Leave a Reply

