Books

Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

Battle of the LabyrinthTitle: Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Young Adult / Mythology / Fantasy
Date:
 2010 (2008)
Publisher: Puffin
Pages: 342
Started: 1st September 2016
Completed: 1st September 2016
Rating: 4/5
Summary: Freshman orientation is about mastering new things, but this is ridiculous. Percy didn’t expect that in his first week at school, he would have to face a squad of demon cheerleaders. And the dangers are far more than scholastic: Kronos’s armies are threatening even the relative safety of Camp Half-Blood. The fourth installment of Percy Jackson and the Olympians deals out action, surprises, suspense, and gripping characters.


The Battle of the Labyrinth is the fourth book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. It is preceded by The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, and The Titan’s Curse. You can read my reviews of the first three books in the series by clicking the titles or the book covers below. I’ll review the final book, The Last Olympian, at some point either today or tomorrow.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief     Sea of Monsters     Titan's Curse


I really enjoyed the overall plot of Battle of the Labyrinth. The myth of Daedalus and his labyrinth has always fascinated me because of how complex it is so I really enjoyed that aspect of the book. I also loved the other myths that were interwoven into the story. There was also a lot of action in this book. You’re never far from a battle or fight and that makes the book really interesting. I really enjoyed the first fight scene with Kampê (or Campe) daedalus_and_icaruswhich is set in Alcatraz because she’s not a monster I’m familiar with so it was interesting to learn about a new monster. I also really liked how the setting moved around the USA because Daedalus’ labyrinth is constantly moving, shifting, and growing. It was a clever way to show the magic of the labyrinth.

Nico and Bianca are two of my favourite characters from this series so I was very happy when they returned in this book, despite the circumstances they returned in. Nico is a fascinating character as he’s isolated from the other demi-gods for being the son of Hades. He’ll never fit in even though Percy tries to make him feel included. Rachel Elizabeth Dare is another of my favourite characters. She makes her first appearance in the previous book, The Titan’s Curse, but she has a major role in this book as she’s a mortal who can see through the Mist, and therefore see monsters. She takes on Ariadne’s role from the original myth as she guides Percy and the others through the maze. I love her because she’s mortal and has no links to the world of the gods. It’s nice to see a badass mortal character.

I really loved the ending because Poseidon visits Percy at home, during his birthday party with Tyson, Sally, and Paul. It was funny to see Poseidon and Paul interact. Nico also turns up at the end which was a bit of a shock.


The only thing that I didn’t like about this book was some of Percy’s dreams. His dreams about the original myth were interesting because it was a great way to introduce Daedalus’ backstory.

However, some of his dreams allowed him to spy on Kronos, the Titan lord,  and I didn’t like that. I felt that it was a bit too Harry Potter and it was too convenient in my opinion. I’m not a fan of things like that so their frequency annoyed me.


I’d recommend this book to children, teenagers, and adults of all genders. I think it’s a great book and I love the myth that Riordan chose. He seamlessly incorporates Greek mythology with a brand new plot and that always impresses me. Obviously, you should read the first three books in the series before this one but the series is amazing.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

