Books

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass (Throne of Glass #1)

Throne of Glass coverTitle: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy / Young Adult
Date:
2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury 
Pages: 404
Started: 29th May 2016
Completed: 29th May 2016
Rating: 4/5
Summary: Meet Celaena Sardothien. Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?


Throne of Glass is the first book in Sarah J. Maas’ series of the same name. The series currently consists of five books, Crown of Midnight (2013), Heir of Fire (2014), Queen of Shadows (2015), and Empire of Storms (2016)with a sixth set to be released in 2017.

crown of midnightI decided to read this book after seeing all of the hype on wordpress and instagram. I haven’t read any of the other books yet but I do want to at some point in the near future. I think that I’ll probably read them all next year but I’ll have to re-read this one first.

The covers of these books are absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to own the complete set, whenever that may be.


I did enjoy many aspects of this book from the plot to the characters to the writing style. I did read the book in one day because I just couldn’t put it down.

What I enjoyed most about this book was the world building that Sarah J. Maas does throughout the novel. I enjoyed learning about the kingdom of Adarlan where most of the characters live, as well as the other kingdoms that make up this universe. I also enjoyed reading about Celaena’s childhood and background as an assassin. I just love it when an author takes the time to create a detailed universe for a book because it makes the book more intriguing.

I did enjoy the plot of this book. It was a very interesting and clever story Celaena as accepts an offer to compete with other assassins and thieves in a glass castle for a chance to serve as the kingdom’s champion. She had previously been imprisoned but the competition will allow her to find freedom after serving as the kingdom’s champion for four years. She gets drawn into a conspiracy when her fellow competitors keep dying and she discovers more than she expected.

Sarah J. Maas wrote some amazing female characters in this book. I especially liked Nehemia Ytger, a princess from another kingdom, and how she acts around the people that seek to destroy her kingdom. She has no love interest and she’s just a wonderfully well-rounded character. I really love her as a character. Celaena is obviously a strong female character as she’s an extremely clever woman as well as being a renowned assassin.

I liked the other characters, including the other criminals, and there was an interesting mix of people in this book. Chaol and Dorian are both good characters. They’re not one dimensional love interests which I found rather refreshing after encountering so many in young adult novels, instead they had their own stories to tell and they can function as characters without Celaena.


I know that Celaena is a wonderful character but she really annoys me at time. This is one of the things that I disliked about the book. I genuinely don’t like Celaena at times. All she does is read! I love reading, don’t get me wrong, but this girl is an assassin and I wanted to see more action and less reading. She also acts like a spoilt brat at times and she’s just really annoying. I’m hoping that she’s less annoying in the next book.

Finally, I hated the stupid love triangle between Chaol, Celaena, and Dorian. I don’t care who she finally ends up with and I really wish that this love triangle didn’t exist. Maybe Dorian and Chaol should just get together in the end so that Celaena can just live her life as a badass assassin who doesn’t need a man.


Overall, this is a good book. The main character is fairly annoying at times but it’s an enjoyable novel that’s very entertaining.

I think that pretty much everyone has read this book by now but if you haven’t then I’d definitely recommend it. It’s great to read a high fantasy novel written by a woman and I really enjoyed the world building that takes place within this novel.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass (Throne of Glass #1)

  1. I’m reading book 5 at the moment and my advice would be to read the rest of the series slowly so you finish book 5 just before book 6 comes out this time next year. Having read books 1-4 back-to-back last summer, I’ve been struggling with book 5 trying to remember what has happened before and who everyone is! What I’ll do when another Game of Thrones is published I just don’t know… 😉

    Unfortunately Celaena only becomes more annoying as the series progresses. However, Maas gives us some brilliant secondary characters who make up for it, most of whom are strong, independent women 🙂 Book 2 is still my favourite!

    I don’t understand why some people really take against this series. It’s incredibly entertaining and, as you found, so quick to read. As long as you don’t take it too seriously, it’s good fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a shame that she becomes even more annoying but I’ll be able to put up with that if the secondary characters are brilliant, like you say they are.

      I’ll have to spread them out over next year then. Maybe read one a month or something! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’ve only read this book out of the series but I am looking forward to reading the others. You should definitely give this book a go though!

      Thanks 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

