Books

Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Want to Listen to on Audio

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: All About Audio Freebie!

Since it’s a freebie I decided to do 10 Books I Want to Listen to on Audio. I don’t listen to audiobooks but I’ve always wanted to so maybe this list will inspire me to download some.

All images and book titles take you to Goodreads.


Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

I’d love to listen to Stephen Fry narrate Harry Potter. I think I’d listen to the whole series too, not just the first book. It’d just be a great new way to experience Harry Potter. I can’t imagine how long the audiobook for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix would be though. It’s probably about 30 or 40 hours long and I’d probably fall asleep half way through it.

The Count of Monte Cristo cover2. The Count of Monte Cristo  by Alexandre Dumas

I actually have this audiobook downloaded but I just haven’t listened to it yet. I’m not actually planning on buying the actual book any time soon so I should probably listen to the audiobook.I think that audiobooks would be great for longer books such as this one because a lot of people, myself included, who read very quickly tend to skip over sentences and an audiobook would eliminate that problem.

The Girl on the Train cover3. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I saw this on Audible’s best sellers list a while ago and thought that it would be a great book to listen to. I haven’t read the book before and I keep meaning to buy it since it’s only £3 at my local supermarket. But, alas, it just hasn’t made its way on to my bookshelves yet. It’d probably be cheaper to buy the actual book because audiobooks seem to be a tad more expensive.

hitchhikers4. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I do own this book, the actual book not the audiobook, and I plan on reading it later in the year. But this is another audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry and he’s got a great voice so I think it’d be fantastic to listen to. I will read the actual book though because I own it and I don’t want to waste the money I spent on it. So, I’ll probably listen to the audiobook some time after I’ve read the book.

1984 cover5. 1984 by George Orwell

This is one of my favourite books of all time. I must have read it almost a dozen times since I was 15 and I’ll probably read it again in 2017. I’m just in love with it and that’ll never change. Listening to the audiobook version would just let me experience one of my favourite books in a whole new way. Hopefully I’ll be able to find a decent version somewhere.

alice's adventures6. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Once again, this is one of my favourite books and I’d just like to experience it in a new way. I’d obviously listen to Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There too. You can’t listen to the first book and not listen to the sequel. I think that listening to this book would be very fun because of the variety of characters and it’d be interesting to see how one person would become all of the different characters that Carroll created.

tinker tailor7. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John le Carré

I really enjoyed reading le Carré’s The Night Manager but I haven’t bought this book yet. I do plan on buying it one day but if I find a good audiobook version then I may buy that instead. I’m not sure yet. Either way, I’d still like to listen to the audiobook version one day. I think I’d like to read and/or listen to some of le Carré’s other books too and I’d even like to listen to an audiobook version of The Night Manager.

secret garden8. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I’ve chosen this because I’d love to hear the phonetic Yorkshire dialect read aloud. Especially if it’s by someone who isn’t from Yorkshire. I just love to hear people murder my accent and dialect. It would probably make me laugh. Or, if it was an accurate representation of Yorkshire dialect I’d probably cry with happiness. My accent and dialect is very important to me and I hate it when people mock it.

on the road cover9. On the Road by Jack Kerouac

I didn’t like reading the book at all. I didn’t understand it and I think it’s because I’m not an teenager from the US who is dreaming about going on long road trips and finally being free. That said, I think that listening to an audiobook version may help me to get into it more because I wouldn’t be reading it in my own voice. I just think that listening to an American man read it would make it easier to get into Kerouac’s mindset.

turn of the screw10. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

I just really love this short novel and I’d love to listen to an audio version of it. It’s a paranormal novel but it’s a psychological thriller so it’d be interesting to see if the audiobook could inspire the same feelings of paranoia and horror in me that the actual book did. I’d love to be freaked out by an audiobook version of this book.

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Want to Listen to on Audio

  1. I bought The Three Musketeers a while ago and am still stuck on page 50. The film adaptations probably ruined it for me but maybe the audio book during a long train ride might just do the trick.
    It’s interesting what you said about not relating to On the Road. I’m also not an American male, but ever since I read it as a teenager I wanted to go on a road trip across the US. With that being said, I have no desire to re-read this book 😀
    (My top 10 List)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read it for a university module and no one on the module could relate to On the Road. It didn’t inspire any wanderlust in me unfortunately 😦 I’m willing to give it another go in a different form though!

      Like

  2. Harry Potter was my first audiobook. I actually picked it because I wasn’t sure if I could handle the audio format so I figured a book I had read and already knew would help me figure that out in a super low-stakes way. I was right. Now I loooooooove audiobooks.

    I actually prefer Fry’s narration over Jim Dale’s because I don’t like Dale’s Hermione or Luna. YMMV, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

