Books

WWW Wednesday – 21st September 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

All links take you to Goodreads.


Currently Reading:

Les Mis coverLes Misérables by Victor Hugo

I’m still reading this book and it’s been three weeks since I started it. I’m almost at the end though. I’m now on book 41 out of 48 which is book two of part five. So, I’m on the final part of the novel which is called ‘Jean Valjean’ and I only have 8 more books to read (including book 41). I’m currently on page 1061.

If I manage to stick to my reading schedule for this book then I should finish this book on the 24th, in just a few days, and I’m considering throwing myself a party afterwards. It’s a wonderful book and I’ve loved reading it but it’s just so long.

Robinson CrusoeRobinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I only started this book yesterday because I decided to wait until I’d finished reading Tipping the Velvet to start reading this book. I’ve read one chapter/section which was only about 70 pages long, maybe less, and I’m going to read section 2 tonight. Section 2 is a little bit longer than section 1 but it’s not so long that I won’t be able to read it in one go.

My edition, which was published in 1858 and is not the edition that I’ve linked to, is a bit more fragile than I expected. It’s bound in leather so I expected it to be fairly sturdy but the pages are thinner than I expected them to be. I should have probably bought a newer edition to read and just kept this one for show but books are meant to be read, no matter when they were published, and I’d hate to see it just stuck on the shelf.

The House of Hades coverThe House of Hades by Rick Riordan

I started this book on the 18th and I’m about half way through it so far. I’m really enjoying it and I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for such a long time. I don’t know why I’ve waited so long to read it. I really love the plot, especially since it centres on Hades and Nico, and the characters are amazing as always.

After I’ve finished this book I’m going to start The Blood of Olympus which is the final book in this series. I expect that I’ll have this book finished at the weekend if I continue reading it at the pace which I’m reading now.

BrisingrBrisingr by Christopher Paolini

Yep, I am still reading this book. It’s still incredibly slow too. I’m enjoying it but it’s just taking too long to read. I wish that it didn’t have as much description in it. There’s just no need for it in my opinion.

I’m currently just under half way through this book and I’m just going to keep reading it until I’ve finished it. I will not mark it as a DNF and I will finish it before the end of 2016. I’m giving myself over three months to read the second half of this novel so you should expect to see this in my ‘currently reading’ section of my WWW Wednesday posts for a long time.


Recently Finished:

Tipping the Velvet coverTipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters

I completed this book yesterday after over a year of procrastination.

It was good. It’s not a new favourite of mine but it was very different to the books I usually read and sometimes it’s nice to read something new or different. A review will be up at some point. I have a few reviews scheduled to go out before this one. Plus, I’m still undecided on the rating that I want to give this book so I’ll be weighing up the good and the bad in order to come to a decision. I should probably make a page where I explain what my review ratings actually mean to me, because they do mean something and that’s not always clear. Good idea or not? Let me know.

King Rat coverKing Rat by China Miéville

I completed this book on the 18th. The review will probably go up sometime tomorrow since I’ve written and edited it. I had a lot of fun writing the review for this book since I enjoyed it so much.

King Rat was just fantastic. I didn’t expect it to be terrible since I know that China Miéville is a fantastic writer and all of his novels really grab me and I usually devour them very quickly (except for Kraken which is currently half finished but I will finish it soon!). The plot was engaging, intriguing, and exciting. It’s honestly one of the best books I’ve ever read and I can’t wait to post the review tomorrow.

the valley of fearThe Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle

I finished this book on the 15th which was just one day after my last WWW Wednesday post. I didn’t have much left to read but I decided that I’d finish the final 20% in one night.

It was a great book and I’d say that it’s one of my favourite Sherlock Holmes stories. I’m excited to pick the next book up though, whenever that may be, and I know that I won’t be reviewing this book until I’ve completed the final two books in the series that I own. I do have my notes though and I will write up a provisional review now that I’ve completed the book. I just won’t edit or publish the review until I’ve finished the series.


What I’m reading next:

the blood of olympusThe Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I’ll start this book once I’ve finished The House of Hades. I actually can’t start this book until I’ve finished The House of Hades since this book is part of the same series. I don’t know when I’ll start it though because I have no idea when I’ll be finished with The House of Hades.

This was the 10th and final book that I was planning to read in September but my efficient reading process has really helped me get through the books I planned to read this month. So, I’ve added a very small book to this month’s TBR to compensate for my quick reading.

The Tell-Tale HeartThe Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe (Little Black Classics Edition)

This will be the final book that I read in September. I’m planning on reading it on the 30th to round off the month with a small book so I’ll hopefully have finished all of my other books before the 30th, including The Blood of Olympus.

There’s three short stories in this tiny edition so that should keep me entertained for the day before I’m forced to pack my suitcase for Florida. I haven’t read much Poe before, mainly because the guy really creeps me out, but other people really seem to love his work. I’ll have to see how I feel about it. If I do like it then I’ll probably invest in a decent collection of his work.


What are you reading this week? 

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 21st September 2016

  1. Wow! That’s an amazing amount of reading! 🙂
    You definitely deserve a party when you finish Les Mis. It’s on my list with War and Peace entitled, “Books I have to read before I die”… so I’m putting it off as long as possible 😉

    While I appreciate the important of Robinson Crusoe in the history of the novel, I always enjoyed Moll Flanders a lot more (even if she is annoying!).

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/09/21/www-wednesday-21st-september-2016/

    Like

    1. Forcing myself to read Les Mis every day worked so well! It’s a wonderful book and it can definitely be split into smaller sections. I need a character chart though to keep up with all of the names.

      Moll Flanders is on my TBR too but I already own Robinson Crusoe so that’s first on my list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to read Tipping the Velvet for quite a while. My old housemate had the DVDs of the BBC series so I watched that with her at one point and really enjoyed it, but I imagine the book is a lot more detailed. I always find it interesting to see what ratings systems people use for books, so I think having a page for that would be a good idea!

    I have to say I’m impressed that you’ve managed to get through Les Mis in only three weeks. I did start it at some point but I only got to about the 6% mark. I am admittedly really bad at reading classics, they just don’t really work for me.

    Here’s my WWW post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to watch the BBC series. I’ve heard great things about it. I should probably invest in the DVDs sometime soon 🙂

      I made sure that I read Les Mis every single day because I wanted to read it in less than a month. I’m so close to finishing it now and I’m impressed with myself. I love classics though so if you don’t like them I understand why a monster of a book like Les Mis wouldn’t work for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

