Books

Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

the raven kingTitle: The Raven King
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy / Paranormal
Date:
2016
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 439
Started: 2nd May 2016
Completed: 8th May 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path


The Raven King is the final book in Maggie Stifevater’s The Raven Cycle. The other books in the series are The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, and Blue Lily, Lily Blue. You can read my reviews of these books by clicking on the book covers below.

Maggie Stiefvater is going to write a Ronan-centric trilogy that acts as a sequel to The Raven Cycle. She announced this to the world, and her editor, on twitter about two months ago. I don’t know how I feel about this to be honest. I think that she should have left the characters alone because she’s in danger of becoming like J. K. Rowling and she’ll be releasing new ‘facts’ about the characters in 20 years time. I was looking forward to reading books about different characters which she has planned so I hope those novels go ahead as planned and the Ronan trilogy is released in the future.

The Raven Boys cover               The Dream Thieves               Blue Lily, Lily Blue


I loved this book just as much as I loved the rest of the series. I thought that it worked well as a final novel and it provided a certain amount of closure. I’m glad that Stiefvater didn’t answer everything because this is a paranormal fantasy and some things are meant to be ambiguous in my opinion.

There’s so much character growth in this novel it’s almost unbelievable. Every character becomes more than they were before. Relationships also grow and new friendships are forged.

Gansey is my favourite character in this book. His obsession with Cabeswater and finding Glendower really does prove to be his downfall and I felt like this novel gives you a better insight into Gansey’s personality and even the reasons behind his actions. He’s always been a well-rounded character but I really think that this book added extra dimensions to the character.

Blue has a weird journey in this novel as she finds out more about her father and therefore she finds out more about who she is. Her friendship with Noah becomes fraught as she tries to keep him tethered to the mortal world and Noah starts to lose himself. I love that Henry Cheng became part of the gang. I love his friendship with Blue and with the rest of the characters. He’s a very complex character with secrets of his own but he’s also very likable despite being somewhat odd.

I enjoyed the progression of the relationship between Adam and Ronan. It wasn’t forced and it didn’t happen too quickly. It had been building for a while and it felt right. It also made Adam more likable because he wasn’t angsting over Blue.

I enjoyed the overall plot. I thought it was interesting and it fit well with the other books in the series. The plot didn’t pan out as I expected it to. None of my guesses or theories were correct and I’m really happy that Stiefvater came up with something interesting and unique rather than just ending the series in a bland way because she couldn’t tie up all of the loose ends.


Someone needs to explain the weird tree-thing with Blue and why it was even in the book. It’s the only thing I really disliked about this novel because it was just so odd and I couldn’t understand the point of it. I probably need to read the book again to fully understand it but I wish it had made sense from the start.

This novel is confusing in places and that’s a bit annoying. I love re-reading novels to find bits that I’ve overlooked or even re-reading a book with a different focus but when entire plot lines don’t make sense then you know that you just haven’t read it properly.


I love this book and I would recommend the whole series to anyone. I do think that this book requires careful reading but sections are a bit confusing but I think it’s a wonderful end to a wonderful series.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

