Books

Top Ten Tuesday – Books On My Autumn TBR List

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Books On My Autumn TBR List

I do monthly TBRs but I’ll choose 10 books that I’m going to feature in either my October or November TBRs.

All images and book titles take you to Goodreads.


The Song of Achilles coveer1. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I’m taking this book on holiday with me which is probably a bad idea because I’m probably going to end up sobbing into my beach towel. The Song of Achilles is based on two ‘characters’ from Homer’s Iliad and it tells the story of the love between Achilles and Patroclus. Achilles is perhaps one of the most famous Greek heroes from Mythology and I think that this will be an interesting take on their relationship and the story of the Iliad. I do love Homer’s story though so I hope that this is very different.

man in the high castle2. The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

I love the TV show that is based on this book and I can’t wait to read the book. I did wannt to read the book first but I got bored and binge watched the first series of the show to entertain myself after I finished uni. The Man in the High Castle depicts an alternative history where Nazi Germany won WWII instead of the allied forces and they rule what was formally known as the United States of America. It’s set in 1962 and it was first published on the 1st of January 1962.

the-last-man3. The Last Man by Mary Shelley

Mary Shelley is one of my favourite authors. I love Frankenstein and her short stories so I can’t wait to read The Last Man. This book is considered to be the first ever post-apocalyptic novel and I love that Shelley broke genre boundaries with her novels. The book has biographical elements to it but ultimately it tells the story of a future world that has been ravaged by a plague.

Magnus Chase4. Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

It’s been a year since this book was published and I still haven’t read it. I’ve been concentrating on finishing the other Rick Riordan books I have first so I’m looking forward to starting a new series when I’ve read The Blood of Olympus. This series is about Norse mythology and I can’t wait to see how Riordan depicts the Norse gods and the amazing myths that surround them. I really want to read this book before the second book in the series, The Hammer of Thor, is released. I probably won’t be able to though.

ulysses5. Ulysses by James Joyce

I’m reading this book as part of my 2016 prompt challenge. It will fulfill the prompt ‘read a book that was once banned in the UK’Ulysses was banned in the UK in 1922 for being obscene and it wasn’t printed in the UK until 1936. It’s a modernist novel and it’s based on Homer’s Odyssey. I’m not usually a fan of modernist writing but Joyce has always fascinated me so I’m looking forward to reading this book.

Paradise Lost6. Paradise Lost by John Milton

This is another book that I’m reading as part of my 2016 prompt challenge. It’ll be for the prompt ‘read an epic poem’ since Paradise Lost is an epic poem. I have read this before, technically, but I can’t remember most of it since I just skimmed it for an essay once. I don’t have it marked as read on Goodreads so that means that I didn’t really read it. I love Milton’s work and I’m a huge fan of 17th century literature so I know that I’ll enjoy reading this.

the war of the worlds7. The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

I love the work of H. G. Wells, especially The Time Machine, so I know that I’ll enjoy this. I first encountered The War of the Worlds when I was 10 because we listened to Jeff Wayne’s musical version of the novel in class. I think that the musical version is a fantastic way to introduce children to this novel and I’d love to see the actual musical one day. I’ve never read the novel before though so I’m looking forward to that.

dune8. Dune by Frank Herbert

I have no idea how this ended up on my TBR but I’m looking forward to reading it. It’s an epic soft science fiction novel and it has 5 sequels. I may read the sequels if I enjoy this one. It’s set more than 21,000 years in the future and humanity has branched out into space and colonised several inhabitable worlds. Humanity has evolved through expanding technology but things like artificial intelligence are banned.

perdido st station9. Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

I love China Miéville novels and I’ve just finished King Rat which was fantastic. It’s set in the fictional world of Bas-Lag where magic exists. It’s meant to be an industrial city and the techology is very steampunk. The main character is an eccentric scientist called Isaac. The Bas-Lag series also includes The Scar and Iron Council but all of the novels can be read independently of each other.

The Simarillion cover10. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien

This book is an incomplete work that explores the mythology of the lands depicted in The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The book is meant to have been translated from Bilbo’s three-volume Translations from the Elvish, which he wrote while at Rivendell and it is explicitly linked to The Hobbit. This book wasn’t published during Tolkien’s lifetime but it was edited and published posthumously by his son, Christopher Tolkien.


What is on your Autumn/Fall TBR? Or, Spring TBR if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere. 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books On My Autumn TBR List

    1. It’s been on my TBR for so long and I decided that I would read it in Autumn since it seems like a book that I can read while I’m wrapped up warm with a cup of tea. I like to be comfortable with emotional books.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Grapes of Wrath is on my TBR too! I’ve read Paradise Lost before but I haven’t read it in full for years, just extracts, but I do love it. It’s a masterpiece in my opinion.

      I loved the show and that’s why I can’t wait to read the book! 🙂

      Like

  1. I read The Silmarillion a few years ago and it has so much information on the world of Middle earth. I hope you enjoy it! Unfinished Tales is a favorite of mine too, it’s not as dense but has some cool info. Dune I didn’t care for but I hope you like it. And the Magnus Chase books- i want to read those too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man, the Silmarillion. I hope you’ve packed your bags and prepared because it’s going to be a wild ride. I’ve heard a lot of people had issues with it, but I personally enjoyed it, but then again I’m someone who reads the history parts of the bible for fun.
    I haven’t read any China Mieville books yet, but I’ve heard that Perdido is one his better ones. Planning to get to it someday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

