Books

WWW Wednesday – 28th September 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

All links take you to Goodreads.


Currently Reading:

the blood of olympusThe Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I started this book on Monday and I’ve already read so much of it, almost 70%, because I’m not reading anything else at the moment. It’s been so nice to just concentrate on one book for the past couple of days but I wouldn’t be able to do this all of the time because I get bored and I love starting new stories.

I should have this completed by tonight or tomorrow morning. It depends on if I’m able to concentrate tonight since The Great British Bake Off is on TV and I’m emotionally invested in that TV programme. I think that I’ll end up finishing The Blood of Olympus tomorrow.

BrisingrBrisingr by Christopher Paolini

When will I be finished with this book? Who knows.

I’ve read 60% of this book now. I just can’t believe how long it’s taking me to read it. I consistently read it every other day and I try to read it every day. I’m just not that into it. I’ll probably be reading this book in November with the rate at which I’m currently reading it. I’m not taking it to Florida with me so I’m going to try and read as much as possible before the end of the month. I will finish this book before the end of the year because if I don’t then I’m just going to mark it as a TBR. Three months is long enough to read the final 40% of this book.


Recently Finished:

Robinson CrusoeRobinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I’m so happy that I’ve completed this book on time. It took all of my concentration to read it but I really did enjoy it. I know that a lot of people find it boring but I didn’t.

I’ll review this book after I’ve reviewed Les Mis. So that means that the review should be published just before I go on hiatus for my holiday at the beginning of October. I only finished reading it last night so I’ve only written down my initial thoughts. I did this after finishing every chapter though so I do have a plan for my review. I just have to write it and edit it now. I should probably start that within the next couple of days.

The House of Hades coverThe House of Hades by Rick Riordan

I loved this book so much. I can’t believe that I waited so long to read it. It was just fantastic. I completed it on Saturday afternoon and it was just such a great read. I just really enjoyed it and I can’t think of anything else to say.

I have written my review for this book but I haven’t posted it yet. I’ll probably post the reviews of The House of Hades and The Blood of Olympus together but that’ll be after I come back from Florida. So, probably late October. Maybe even early November. That seems so far away but I will be on hiatus for two weeks starting the 3rd of October so I won’t be writing or posting at all for those two weeks.

Les Mis coverLes Misérables by Victor Hugo

I’ve finally finished Les Mis. I feel like I should have a party and celebrate or something. I had so many failed attempts at starting this book and I just thought that I would never read it. However, setting myself a manageable goal of 2 ‘books’ per day really helped. It took me 24 days to read this book and I’m sure I could have read it quicker but it was nice to just reach the goal of 2 ‘books’ per day and really appreciate those 2 books.

The review for this will go up just before I go away. So, the beginning of October. I’m leaving it so late because I really want to think about what I’m writing. I don’t want to miss anything out. I did write mini reviews each night after completing the chapters though so hopefully the review I eventually publish should be well thought out. Hopefully.


What I’m Reading Next:

The Tell-Tale HeartThe Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe

This small collection of short stories will be my 12th and final book of September. I’m still unsure about Poe’s work since I’ve read very little of it before but I’m looking forward to reading this collection.

Penguin’s Little Black Classics range are just excellent ways to experience authors and texts that you’d never usually read. I’m hoping that this collection will help me find an appreciation for Poe’s work even though I find the man and his life story incredibly creepy.


This will be my last WWW Wednesday post until the 26th of October. I hope you all have a great day. Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 28th September 2016

  1. Les Miserables is one of my favourite classics. Congrats on getting through it! It can be difficult, especially as it’s as heartwrenching as it is huge 😉
    Ooh! Edgar Allen Poe is one of my favourite authors! Enjoy his work. They are unique and very creepy 😉
    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

