Books

Book Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

hp-3Title: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Children’s Fiction / Young Adult / Fantasy
Date:
1999
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 371
Started: 20th March 2016
Completed: 22nd March 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after summer holidays (who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?). But when Harry arrives at Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the third book in J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. It’s my favourite book in the series and I was excited to re-read it. There are 7 books in the series which have been adapted into 8 films. I’m sure that almost everyone has at least seen the films. I watch them about 3 times a year because ITV loves marathoning them over a few weeks, especially in the run up to Christmas.

I have also reviewed Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

The Harry Potter universe has recently been expanded in the form of a play written by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which is set 19 years after the end of the final book. At the same time as the epilogue which I deny exists. I won’t be going to see the play in London and I don’t plan on reading the script even though it has been released to the public. I’ve heard wild stories about the plot of the play and I’m just not impressed. I’m sure that the actors are amazing though and if you’ve seen it (or read it) then let me know your opinions!


I love this book so much. It just seems so different to the others in the series and that’s what makes it stand out to me.

I’m going to start by saying that this book introduces two of my favourite characters in the series: Remus Lupin and Sirius Black. Remus’ name is just a wolf pun and I love it. Sirius is my favourite character of the whole series, followed by Harry and Draco. I also really like the introduction of the Marauders and if I’d love for J. K. Rowling to expand into the Marauders’ time. That is something that I’d really enjoy. The map they created is just so wonderful and I love how it sasses Snape:

“Mr Moony presents his compliments to Professor Snape and begs him to keep his abnormally large nose out of other people’s business. 
Mr Prongs agrees with Mr Moony and would like to add that Professor Snape is an ugly git.
Mr Padfoot would like to register his astonishment that an idiot like that ever became a Professor.
Mr Wormtail bids Professor Snape good day, and advises him to wash his hair, the slime-ball.

Sassy Harry also makes an appearance in this book which is wonderful. I’m always happy to see Harry at his most sarcastic.

I really love the plot of the Prisoner of Azkaban because it introduces Animagi (or Animagus forms. Whatever you want to call it). It’s a wonderful concept and I think it adds something different to this book compared to the rest. I also really loved the introduction of dangerous magical creatures in the form of Werewolves. Yes, we had Buckbeak in the second book but Lupin is so much more dangerous than a hippogriff, despite being an extremely kind human.

I’m also really glad that there’s no Voldemort in this book. I love that this book focuses more on the backstory of Harry’s parents and their friendships. The introduction of Pettigrew is very clever and it provides a much needed link between Voldemort and Harry’s parents.

Finally, I think that the length of this book is great. It’s under 500 pages long which means that it doesn’t look like a huge book (and it isn’t) but it’s not too short either. I think that Rowling did a wonderful job with this book as the pace of the book is perfect in my opinion.


I can honestly say that there’s only one thing I disliked about this book and that’s the plot holes. I’m sure many other people have noticed these plot holes too. The major one is that Fred and George Weasley, the owners of the Marauder’s Map before Harry, didn’t realise that Scabbers was Peter Pettigrew! Did they never check up on Ron? Or did they just not notice this weird guy that was following Ron around and sleeping in his bed? The twins must have been incredibly unobservant.


This will always be my favourite Harry Potter book. I probably should have given it 5 stars but that plot hole really bugs me.

I’d recommend the whole Harry Potter series to everyone but I’d probably tell them that this book is the best, followed by the final two books which are my other favourites.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

  1. I just finished rereading PoA last night! It’s definitely one of my favourites in the series! So much Marauder goodness and Snape gets some much needed backstory! A really solid story from JK, except for that niggling fact about the Weasley twins ;P
    Great review 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

