Books

Book Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling

hp-4Title: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Children’s Fiction / Young Adult / Fantasy
Date: 
2000
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 636
Started: 29th April 2016
Completed: 31st May 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at the Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened in a hundred years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen year old wizard. Unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards. And in his case, different can be deadly.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the fourth book of J. K. Rowling’s seven book series about a boy wizard called Harry. These books are famous around the world and they have been adapted into 8 films. I think almost everyone agrees that Goblet of Fire is the worst film adaptation and here’s why:

dumbledore

The book said ‘calmly’. Just saying. Also, why didn’t we get to see any guys from Beauxbatons? They exist in the books. It’s not an all-girls school. Also, where was the single girl from Durmstrang? Hermione’s dress at Yule ball is wrong too. There’s so much wrong with that film. But this review is about the book so I need to calm down.

I’ve previously reviewed Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. 


I’ve always really enjoyed this book and it was no different during my re-read earlier in the year. I think that it’s a very interesting book and it really helps to expand the wizarding world beyond Harry and his friends.

I love the plot. The idea of a Quidditch World Cup is fab and I love that this is the first introduction that you get to wizards from other places besides the UK. This continues through the plot as we’re introduced to different schools for witches and wizards. I do think that the schools are a tad stereotypical since France’s school, which accepts students from most western European countries, is elegant whereas Scandinavia’s school is darker and more, well, ‘elitist’ is the wrong word but I can’t describe how Durmstrang makes me feel. It’s just weird to me. I did enjoy the introduction of the new schools so since they brought in new characters and different magical practices.

I enjoyed the idea of the Triwizard tournament and the tasks are really interesting and thrilling to read about. I’d hate to be a spectator watching the lake for hours on end though! That would be so boring. I also loved that Neville was able to use his love of plants and Herbology to help Harry with one of the tasks. I always enjoy it when Neville gets some recognition. He’s such a good friend.

The Yule Ball is a fantastic moment in the book. Especially the scene when Ron is forced to practice dancing with McGonagall. It’s great that the Harry Potter can’t find a date to the Ball. It puts Harry’s popularity into perspective. He may be the Boy Who Lived but he can’t get a date. I also really enjoyed it when the Patil sisters abandoned Ron and Harry because they wouldn’t dance with them.

Draco is a odd part of this book. Yes, he gets turned into a ferret but before that he has some fantastic lines. I think that you really see his wit and intelligence in this book, even if he is very childish. The badges are meant to annoy Harry but they’re not particularly cruel. However, I said that he’s an odd part of the book because although I do enjoy the badges etc. this is also the book where you really start to see the influence that Lucius has had on him. He’s been horrible before but he goes on some very long rants in the Goblet of Fire and they’re not pretty. He’s still a great character though because he’s so different from Harry and he really is the product of bad parenting.


One of the only things that I didn’t enjoy about this book was how long it took me to read it. I really do enjoy the book but it’s length is insane. It’s double the size of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and while that does make sense, since there’s so much going on in the book, 600+ pages just seems like a lot. It’s just a big jump to make from the first three books which are relatively small.


I’ve always loved this book and that hasn’t changed. I’d recommend the whole series to anyone who hasn’t read it before and if you have read the series then I suggest you read it again.

Also, even though I’m not the biggest fan of the film adaptation, the outfits that the girls from Beauxbatons wear are gorgeous. Just saying.

hp5.gif

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

