Books

Book Review – Tripwire by Lee Child

TripwireTitle: Tripwire
Author: Lee Child
Genre: Thriller
Date: 2011 (1999)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Pages: 544
Started: 1st April 2016
Completed: 11th April 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: For Jack Reacher being invisible has become a habit.

He spends his days digging swimming pools by hand and his nights as the bouncer in the local strip club in the Florida Keys.

He doesn’t want to be found.

But someone has sent a private detective to seek him out. Then Reacher finds the guy beaten to death with his fingertips sliced off. It’s time to head north and work out who is trying to find him and why.


Tripwire was the third book to be published in Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series. You don’t have to read these books in the order that they were published in but I think it helps as some of the books are linked by specific characters and times. Some of the Jack Reacher books are written in first person and some are written in third person (thankfully, he doesn’t write in second person at all!).

I previously reviewed Killing Floor and Die Trying by Lee Child.


I enjoyed so much about this book. Hence, the 4.5 out of 5 rating. I don’t give out 5 star ratings very often and this book just missed out on the top rating.

The introduction of Jodie, Reacher’s new girlfriend, is great. I really like her character, even if I find her relationship with Reacher a bit weird on his part, and I love that she’s a successful woman. Reacher, as always, is a wonderfully written character. I really liked the villain of this book too but I shan’t go into any detail about him.

The plot was great. It really is a thriller of a book and it has a fair amount of action in it too. What I enjoyed most was the exploration of the army and the Vietnam War. It’s so different to the previous two books and you really start to feel like Reacher was part of the army because you get to meet his connections within the military and you even get to see some of his skills in action. I’ve always found the Vietnam War very interesting, even though I’m from the UK, and I liked Child’s take on it. I don’t want to spoil the plot so I’m going to leave this section here. I mean, you can find the whole plot on Wikipedia but what’s the point in reading the plot of a thriller before you read the book?

I love the locations of this book since for the most part it’s set in New York City. The previous two books have featured Reacher in small, remote towns where everyone sees him as an outsider. He definietly feels like an outsider in NYC but he’s finally annoymous. However, it begins in Florida and I love the juxtaposition between Florida and New York. In Florida Reacher can be whoever he wants to be but in New York he’s bound by his old life. The brief visit to Hawaii is a bit odd but it worked with plot of the book since it’s about the US army and Hawaii is an important area for the army.

I always love Child’s writing style because he can keep me interested. Despite the book being over 500 pages long I didn’t feel like it dragged on too much. There’s plenty of well written action to keep a reader interested. Sometimes, you see a book that’s over 500 pages and you just know that there’s going to be boring sections. I didn’t find that with Tripwire. If you disagree then let me know! Also, this book is in third person which means that I enjoyed it more than I would have if it were in first person.


There’s not much that I didn’t like about this book. Like I earlier in the review though, I didn’t like the relationship between Jodie and Reacher. I defineitly understood her side of the relationship but I thought his was a bit weird since he’s so much older than her and they met when she was just 15. He recognises the weirdness of it though which is good. I still think a platonic relationship would have been better.

I can’t really think of anything else to criticise. I’ll probably remember something after publishing this review.


Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I’d recommend the book to anyone. You could even read this book first if you plan on starting the series. I’d recommend following it up with The Visitor though since it’s linked to this book.

Have you read Tripwire or any of the Jack Reacher books? What did you think?

killing floor lee child cover Die Trying Tripwire

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Tripwire by Lee Child

Leave a Reply

