Books

Top Ten Tuesday – ‘Scary’ Books on my TBR

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

So, this is my second TTT post of the day. I posted the first about twenty minutes ago and that’s because I wanted to do last week’s topic too. However, I’m back on track now so I can talk about this week’s topic.

This week’s topic is: Halloween Freebie! Since it’s a freebie I’m going to be talking about ‘Scary’ Books on my TBR.

All images and book titles take you to Goodreads.


The ShiningThe Shining by Stephen King

I had to include at least one Stephen King novel on this list and since I’ve never read any of his books (oh, the shame!) I thought that I should include one of his classics. I really hope that this book scares me when I read it because that’s what I’m expecting. I hope to read a few Stephen King novels in 2017. I’m not going to read them this year because I already have too many books to read.

Interview with the vampire coverInterview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Interview with the Vampire is meant to be a horror novel but I’ve always imagined it as a Gothic-esque novel. I haven’t seen the film so I can’t even make an educated guess at it’s genre. I do hope that it is a horror novel because I’d much prefer to read a proper vampire horror novel. If you’ve read it then please let me know what genre you’d class it as.

Red DragonRed Dragon by Thomas Harris

I enjoy the story of Hannibal. I did love the first two seasons of the Hugh Dancy and Mads Mikkelsen show and they focused on Red Dragon. I’ve also read The Silence of the Lambs before but I had to do that for university. So, now I want to read the Hannibal books in order. Red Dragon is actually the only Hannibal book that I don’t own which means that, in my mind, I can’t read the others. I didn’t think that The Silence of the Lambs was scary but this might be. Let’s hope so!

watchersWatchers by Dean Kootz

Dean Kootz is one of those authors that I always consider when I’m in a bookshop but I just never end up buying any of his books. That being said, I’ve heard great things about Watchers and I’d really like to read it. It’s catergorised as a ‘suspense horror’ novel and that really appeals to me because a sense of anticipation is so important in horror novels for me. I find suspense novels much more enjoyable than something that sets out to terrify you from the start (although, those books can be amazing too!.

coraline-2Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Okay, so the film version of this book freaks me out. It doesn’t scare me but I do find it incredibly weird. I know lots of people who have read Coraline and they all seem to love it so I hope I do too. I know that it’s technically a children’s novel but sometimes children’s books are incredibly unsettling because they’re trying to convey a moral and the only way to do that is by terrifying children.

the-stepford-wivesThe Stepford Wives by Ira Levin

This book is a satirical thriller so I don’t expect it to scare me at all. However, the idea of the novel is scary enough in my opinion. Submissive housewives that are (possibly) robots created by men sounds like a nightmare to me. I’ve always been interested in this book because the phrase ‘Stepford wives’ has made it into our every day language and I always find that form of cultural impact fascinating.

American Psycho coverAmerican Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

American Psycho is another satire but I predict that it will be more gruesome than The Stepford Wives and I hope that it is. I’ve never seen the film before, although I have seen GIFs of it on tumblr, and I think that reading the book without seeing the film will give me the best chance of being shocked by this novel. I know the premise of it though so I sort of know what to expect. I think.

lovecraftThe Complete Cthulhu Mythos Tales by H. P. Lovecraft

I’ve never read anything by Lovecraft and I’m sort of ashamed to admit that. I’d love to though and I think that reading a collection like this is probably the way to go since it includes 23 of his best known stories. The price is a bit steep though since it’s a Barnes and Nobel edition so I may look for something else. Lovecraft is known for his incredibly horror stories and he has influenced so many amazing writers or horror and fantasy novels. If you’ve read any Lovecraft then please tell me what your favourite story is.

edgar-allan-poeThe Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe by Edgar Allan Poe

I love Poe’s work. I find his work incredibly creepy. I think that he was incredibly creepy too.His life just freaks me out and so does his death. It just all fits together in a huge creepy bundle and I find it all very unsettling. I’ve only read a few of his poems though so I’d like to own a set of his complete works which I can read whenever I feel like it. There’s a cool Barnes and Nobel edition that I like but I also like the Pengiun edition.

miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-childrenMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I’ve included this book on my TBR because of the amount of hype I’ve seen on wordpress and instagram. I have read a few bad reviews recently though and it seems like people are falling out of love with this creepy novel. I’m still going to read it but now I’m going into it with an open mind rather than extremely high expectations. I won’t be watching the film before I read the book either.


Which scary/creepy books are on your TBR?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – ‘Scary’ Books on my TBR

  1. Miss Peregrine’s the book has always looked so creepy to me, although the movie trailer does not! And Stepford Wives- I think I saw the old movie version once, it’s a scary concept!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

