Books

WWW Wednesday – 26th October 2016

WWW Wed

This is my first WWW Wednesday post since I went away. I’m just going to focus on the books that I’ve read/I am reading since I got back from my holiday.

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ll add all of the links in later. I’m too tired right now. Sorry.


Currently Reading:

Magnus ChaseThe Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I started this book on Saturday and I’m currently about half way through it. I’m really enjoying it and normally I would have finished it by now. However, I’m a bit ill and I’m tired all the time so reading is putting me to sleep at the moment. I hope that changes soon because I have so many books that I want to read.

I have bought The Hammer of Thor but I have no idea when I’ll get to read it. I’ll probably review the two books together though.

The Song of Achilles coveerThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I started this on Monday and I really haven’t read much of it. I’m maybe two or three chapters into it. I actually can’t remember and I can’t be bothered to go and check. I don’t know how I feel about it to be honest. I was a bit concerned before I read it because I have heard that she just used the Iliad and rewrote bits of it. I’ll have to see what I think when I’ve read more of this book.

last bowHis Last Bow by Arthur Conan Doyle

I was meant to take this on holiday with me but I changed it out for The Night Watch by Sarah Waters.

It’s a relatively short book so I don’t expect it to take too long to read. I only started it this morning though so I have no opinion on it so far. I’m only one chapter into it.


Recently Finished:

circles-of-hellCircles of Hell (Little Black Classic) by Dante

Penguin’s Little Black Classics are either short story collections, poetry collections, or sections from a larger work. Circles of Hell is a section of Dante’s The Divine Comedy. I’ve only read sections of The Divine Comedy before because they’ve usually been set as reading for my classes and I’ve never gotten around to reading the whole thing. So, because I’ve only read sections before I thought that I’d be okay with this. I wasn’t. I’m not going to go into too much detail because I will be reviewing this book eventually. My reviews have sort of backed up because they’re all half finished and unedited. But I have a few other LBC to review so I may post them all together at some point.


What I’m Reading Next:

hidden oracleThe Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I won’t start this book until I’ve finished The Sword of Summer since I have a rule of only reading one Riordan book at a time. This series is meant to be set in the Percy Jackson series but it focuses on Apollo who has been stripped of his immortality be Zeus and must live as a mortal. It sounds like an interesting concept and I’m looking forward to starting it soon.

The Grapes of WrathThe Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

This book may have been on my October TBR but there’s just no way that I’ll get to read it in October. Too many books and too little time. I have no idea why I decided to read this book since I’ve never read Of Mice and Men or any of Steinbeck’s other work. However, if I like this then I will probably read From Eden. I’ll never read Of Mice and Men though because I just associate it with high school even though we didn’t read it at our school.

ulyssesUlysses by James Joyce

I think that this is going to be the next book that I pick up. I’m not usually a fan of modernist writing because I hate the whole ‘stream of consciousness’ thing they had going on back then. However, I’m willing to give Joyce a chance and since Ulysses is sort of based on Homer’s Odyssey I think that I might like it. Hopefully I will and I can say that I’m a modernist convert.


What are you reading this week?

 

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 26th October 2016

    1. It’s worth buying for such a small amount of money. But I feel like I should sit down and read the Divine Comedy rather than just certain sections of it.

      Like

  1. Feel better! I love reading until I fall asleep but it can be frustrating at time because I don’t remember what I’m reading, haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s so annoying when you can’t remember what you’re reading and you have to go back and read it again. I try not to read when I’m tired for that exact reason 🙂

      Like

  2. Good luck with James Joyce! I haven’t read Ulysses but I did have to study A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man and it was quite a chore.

    I haven’t read The Song of Achilles but i know some people who absolutely loved it, so I hope it picks up for you!

    Here’s my WWW post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Song of Achilles is picking up now. I just think that I expected too much from it.

      I’ve read other modernist books before and haven’t liked them but Ulysses sounds like it could be interesting to me. I hope it is!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

