Books · Other

Signing up to NetGalley

Notes

I’ve seen many reviewers and bloggers mention NetGalley before and I’ve always wondered what it was and how it works. However, I had never gotten around to signing up. Until now. A lovely author contacted me about her new book and she mentioned that it was available for request on NetGalley and that prompted me to sign up.

I genuinely have no idea what I’m doing or how it works (I should probably read the FAQs or whatever) but I’ve requested that author’s book and I’ll see what happens next. I am a bit wary about all of the books being digital editions but it makes sense in commercial terms. I’m not one for e-books unless they’re theory books that I’m reading for a project. I’m sure I’ll get used to it though if I get approved for any books.

Do you use NetGalley? What are your thoughts about it?

13 thoughts on “Signing up to NetGalley

  1. NetGalley is great, especially if you’re used to ebooks.
    The only downer is if you go a bit “request-happy”, get approved for everything and then feel under loads of pressure to read and review for certain deadlines! (it’s only happened to me a couple of times). Otherwise it’s great! I’ve been able to read some terrific books before they’re published and for free 🙂
    I hope you enjoy the book you’ve requested and find some other titles you’d like to read.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve had a quick browse through the titles and I was surprised at the big names and titles available there. It seems really good. I will try to stop myself from being request-happy. Thank you for the advice 🙂

      Like

  2. NetGalley is awesome! I contacted Penguin Random House for a few 2017 ARCs and they emailed me the links to NetGalley where I could download the books. It’s the way to go! I get so many good books from there. 🙂 Just don’t ask for more books than you can read in a reasonable time period or your score will end up so low you’ll get denied for the one you really want. I’ve made that mistake before. 😂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Netgalley is great and so is Edelweiss (you should check it out too!). Netgalley is pretty straightforward, you request a book, get approved (or not! but don’t stress over it) and you can download it & review it. If you can, you should check the publishers approval preferences, they state their preferences and what they expect from you (for example some request you share your review on the release date or two to three weeks before). Like Claire and Jill said, watch out for getting too “request-happy”, that can lead you to stress over the deadlines if you get approved to several books at the same time. You’ll get the hang of it. 🙂 Have fun and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, I’ll have to check out Edelweiss too then 🙂

      Thank you for the advice about the publisher’s preferences. That helps a lot because I noticed that some books say US reviewers preferred and things like that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello there.

    I have used Netgalley for a couple of years now and I honestly cannot picture my life without it.
    The best advice I can think of giving you is to always try and download/send to e-reader as soon as your request gets approved, because some titles get archived quite quickly and you will not be able to download it if that happens.

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

