Books

WWW Wednesday – 2nd November 2016

WWW Wed

This is my first WWW Wednesday post since I went away. I’m just going to focus on the books that I’ve read/I am reading since I got back from my holiday.

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading:

Magnus ChaseThe Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I still haven’t finished this book. I have about 50 pages left so I will be finished by tonight. After that I’ll start The Hidden Oracle because I’ve had that book since it came out and it was on my October TBR. I didn’t get to read it in October though because I was lazy as hell. I’ll probably read The Hammer of Thor next month. I haven’t decided yet.

the war of the worldsThe War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

I’ve just started this very short book and I aim to have it completed by Saturday. I’m only giving myself such a long time because I’m out of the house all day Thursday and Friday. Although, I could probably read it on the train. I’ve always loved Jeff Wayne’s musical version of The War of the Worlds. If you haven’t heard that then you really should listen to it because it’s awesome. Just saying.


Recently Finished:

The Song of Achilles by Madeline MillerThe Song of Achilles coveer

The start was slow but then I really got into this book. It’s beautiful and emotional and not what I was expecting. I can see why so many people love this book and I’d really love to read it again. I may give it a once over before I review it later in the month. I would review it now but I have so many reviews sitting in my drafts. I do want to have this reviewed by the end of November though so look out for that.

last bowHis Last Bow by Arthur Conan Doyle

I loved this book. I will not review it until I’ve finished The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes because I really want to review the last three books together. I do think that I’ll have to skim over this book again before I review it, mainly to pick out my favourite quotes since I forgot to write them down! Look out for a review of this book in December when I’ve finished the whole series of Sherlock Holmes stories.


What I’m Reading Next:

hidden oracleThe Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I’ll probably start this book tomorrow since I will have finished The Sword of Summer by then. I’m looking forward to reading this book and the rest of the series as Riordan brings them out.

I just buy whatever Riordan publishes. I can’t help it. When does the next one come out? It’ll probably be May 2017. This book came out in May 2016 so that would make sense.

The Simarillion coverThe Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien

I’ll start this book as soon as I’ve completed The War of the Worlds. I have absolutely no idea how long it will take me to read this book but I’m aiming for four days. Haha. Wish me luck with that.

I am very much looking forward to reading it though.


What are you reading this week?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 2nd November 2016

  1. Your response to The Song of Achilles makes me even more excited to read it 🙂
    The Simarillion was a great read, it’s one I’ve been meaning to reread to appreciate the mythos again. Hope you enjoy it!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

