Books

Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I’ve Added to my TBR Recently

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Books I’ve Added to my TBR Recently. 

I’ve added so many books to my TBR in the last few weeks but these are the books that I’m looking forward to reading this most.

All images and book titles take you to Goodreads.


angels-bloodAngel’s Blood by Nalini Singh

I’ve borrowed this from a friend and it’s one of her favourite books. You can tell how many times she’s read it because it’s almost falling apart! She is a bit worried that I’ll hate it because we don’t really have the same taste in books but I’ve promised her that I’ll give it a chance. I hope I enjoy it because we’ll he able to have so many conversations about it.

resistance-arcResistance by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky

This book isn’t released until late Janurary 2017 but it sounds like a great book and something that would really interest me. It’s a science fiction fantasy type of novel and it’s set in post-apocalyptic Paris. It’s not often that I read books that are set in France (or other parts of Europe except Italy and the UK) so that should be interesting too. I’m looking forward to reading it.

he-she-and-itHe, She and It by Marge Piercy

I’ve read a Marge Piercy book before, Woman on the Edge of Time, and it was such a good book. Weird but excellent. I’d love to read more of her work so He, She and It is next on my list. It was originally published under the title Body of Glass outside of the USA but it’s been reissued a couple of times under the name He, She and It. It falls into the cyberpunk genre which I’ve never ventured into so I’m very much looking forward to reading this book.

the-foxhole-courtThe Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

I’ve seen this all over instagram. I’ve seen it all over tumblr. Even my best friend talks about it all the time and she keeps bugging me about reading it. I know almost nothing about it, expect that the second book in the series shares the name of a Maggie Stiefvater book, so I’ll have to give it a chance. I know that a lot of people love it though so I hope I do too.

milk-and-honeymilk and honey by rupi kaur

This is another book that I’ve seen time and time again on instagram. It’s a very beautiful book but the themes intrigue me. It’s a collection of poetry and prose that explores the ideas of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It sounds like a heartbreaking collection but it also seems to be about healing. I love the idea of it.

sleepy-hollowThe Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

I was searching for classic books that sounded interesting because I love classic books. There’s no other reason for it. Anyways, I came across this book and my mind immediately jumped to the TV series Sleepy Hollow. Apparently the show is loosely based on this book which is a short story. I’ll probably buy it in a collection of other stories or I might even see if I can find it on Project Gutenberg or something.

the-sun-is-also-a-starThe Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I think it should be obvious by now that I get a lot of my recommendations from Instagram and that’s also how I found The Sun is Also a Star. It’s a contemporary young adult romance novel and it’s just the opposite of the type of book I’d usually read. However, it’s time to branch out into new genres and take a step outside of my comfort zone. And, if I hate it, at least the cover is pretty.

it-ends-with-usIt Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

I’ve read a few reviews for this book and I actually really like the sound of it. It’s a contemporary romance and once again it’s not a genre that I’m often comfortable reading. However, since the reviews have been excellent and I’ve heard good things about Hoover’s other books (although I’ve never read any) I’m willing to give it a chance. Also, it’s another very beautiful book so I can always use it as an instagram prop if I don’t like it. Or I’ll give it to my mum.

wtnvWelcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

Okay, so I used to listen to the podcast but fell out of the habit about a year ago. I would like to pick the podcast up again at some point but I’d also really like to read the book that they’ve published too. If you haven’t heard of, or listened to, Welcome to Night Vale then it’s a bit difficult to explain properly. It’s a sci-fi ish podcast about the strange things that happen in an odd little down in the desert.

outlanderOutlander by Diana Gabaldon

I want to read the book and I want to watch the TV show. I’m not Scottish but I do have Scottish family (and I love visiting Scotland because it’s beautiful) and it’ll be nice to read something set in the Scottish Highlands. It was originally published in the UK under the title Cross Stitch but I can only find the title Outlander now.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I’ve Added to my TBR Recently

  1. Many of these are on my TBR as well! I especially want to read It Ends With Us and Angel’s Blood. Outlander was a good read, not as great as I had expected. I prefer the sequels.
    Hope you enjoy discovering these books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

