Books

WWW Wednesday – 9th November 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading:

hidden oracleThe Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I’ve only just started this. I started it today. I’ve only read about 10 pages. I have no opinion at the moment.

The concept seems interesting though. As it’s focusing on a god who has been turned into a mortal you’ll get a different perspective from the ones explored in Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus. I’m looking forward to reading more.

he-she-and-itHe, She and It by Marge Piercy

This is one of the books that I requested from NetGalley and I was given a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. He, She and It was originally published in 1993 under a different title so this is a re-issue rather than a brand new book. I have read another book by Marge Piercy, Woman on the Edge of Time, and that’s a fantastic book so I expect good things from this one.

I started reading this book on Saturday and I’ve read 67% of it so far. I’ll be reviewing it on here and goodreads as soon as I’ve finished the book so look out for that.


Recently Finished:

Magnus ChaseThe Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I enjoyed this. It was nice to see Norse mythology for once but it was very different from what I expected. In a good way.

I’ll review it at the same time as I review The Hammer of Thor which is the sequel to this book. Well, I’ll write the review for this book within the next couple of days but it won’t be posted until I’ve finished reading The Hammer of Thor.
the war of the worlds

The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

I loved this book. It was everything that I expected it to be and more. I’m a huge fan of the style of H. G. Wells’ writing and this didn’t disappoint me.

It’s so much better than any of the film adaptations and it really doesn’t take long to read at all so you should all go and read it. I have no idea when I’ll have the review up because I have too many sitting in my drafts right now.


What I’m Reading Next:

The Simarillion coverThe Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien

I was going to start this book when I finished The War of the Worlds but now I’ll start it when I’ve finished one of my other two books. I got accepted for He, She and It so I wanted to read that one first despite it not being on my TBR at all. So, this one got pushed back because I had already started The Hidden Oracle.

I do hope to have this book started (if not finished) by the end of this week though.

infamousInfamous by Sherrilyn Kenyon

I bought this book way back in 2012 on a trip to Florida and I read the first two books on the flight home. However, I never got around to reading this one and now there’s about 200 books in the series. (There’s actually 7 with an 8th due to be published in 2017). I don’t know if I’ll buy any of the other books, it all depends on whether I enjoy this one or not. I can’t even remember what this series is about but I did enjoy the first two books.


What are you reading this week?

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 9th November 2016

Leave a Reply

