Film

Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Films

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Movie Freebie. Since it’s a freebie this week I’ve gone with Top Ten Favourite Films and at least one of them will be a Disney film!

All images and titles take you to IMDB.


deadpool1. Deadpool (2016) – Starring  Ryan Reynolds, Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein, and T.J. Miller

This is my favourite film of 2016 so far and I don’t think that anything will beat it. I had waited years to see a proper Deadpool film and I wasn’t disappointed at all. It was perfect. I can’t wait for the sequel even though Tim Miller is no longer the director and I’m excited to see what’s ahead for Deadpool in the X-Men Cinematic Universe.

beetlejuice2. Beetlejuice (1988) – Starring Alec Baldwin, Geena Davis, Michael Keaton and Winona Ryder

I grew up watching Beetlejuice even though I wasn’t born until 6 years after it was released and it’ll always be one of my favourite films. I love watching it and it just never seems to get old. It’s a wonderful, weird film and it’s a Tim Burton film that doesn’t star Johnny Depp.

ferngully3. FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992) – Starring Jonathan Ward, Samantha Mathis, Tim Curry, Christian Slater and Robin Williams

FernGully is my favourite animated film ever. Nothing compares to it. I love the story which is about deforestation and pollution, the songs are great, and I even love the animation style. It’s still relevant now and it’s just a wonderful film.

the-lion-king4. The Lion King (1994) – Starring Matthew Broderick, James Earl Jones, Jeremy Irons, Nathan Lane, Rowan Atkinson, and Whoopi Goldberg.

The Lion King was the Disney film released during the year I was born. I’m about 5 months older than The Lion King and that’s really weird to be honest. How can you not love The Lion King? It’s Hamlet with lions.  What more could you ask for? Hercules is probably my second favourite Disney film but it didn’t make it on to this list because it almost destroys Greek mythology.

mad-max5. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015) – Starring Tom Hardy, Charlize Theron, and Nicholas Hoult

If you haven’t seen this film then I’m encouraging you to watch it. Go and watch it right now. It’s amazing on so many different levels and I genuinely feel like you’re missing out if you haven’t seen it. Max may be the title character but at its core this is a film about women. I love it. Seriously, go watch it.

skyfall6. Skyfall (2012) – Starring Daniel Craig, Javier Bardem, Naomie Harris and Judi Dench

I love the James Bond series which is a bit weird since the films are incredibly sexist. However, I really love them. I especially love Skyfall because it’s so different from the other films. It felt really gritty and I actually thought that Daniel Craig did an excellent job. I also love Ben Whishaw so that influences my opinion of the film.

armageddon7. Armageddon (1998) – Starring Bruce Willis, Billy Bob Thornton, and Ben Affleck

I can genuinely remember watching this in the US when I was 4. It was on a pay-per-view channel in the hotel room because it wasn’t out on video yet (!) and my parents let me watch it. Also, it was the film that was shown on our flight home from the US so we sort of paid to watch it for no reason.

psychp8. Psycho (1960) – Starring Anthony Perkins, Janet Leigh, and Vera Miles

Alfred Hitchcock was an undeniable genius. His films are just amazing. I’ve only seen a few of his films but Psycho is my favourite so far. I first watched it for a module during my undergrad but I fell in love with it and I’ve watched it a few times since then. It’s just such a classic film and everyone needs to watch it at some point in their lives.

pacific-rim9. Pacific Rim (2013) – Starring Idris Elba, Charlie Hunnam, and Rinko Kikuchi

What a film. I just can’t describe how much I love this film. It was incredible when it was first released and there was so much hype surrounding it but it really lived up to my expectations when I finally saw it. I just really recommend watching this film because it’s fantastic.

winter-soldier10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) – Starring Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson, and Scarlett Johansson

This is by far the best film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (apart from maybe Guardians of the Galaxy) and I adore it. The films that have be released after Winter Solider just haven’t lived up to it in my opinion. It’s just perfection.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Films

Leave a Reply

