Books

Musing Mondays – Fictional Worlds I’d (Not) Like to Live In

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at Books and a Beat which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’ve decided to get back into Musing Mondays because I feel like I should talk about books more rather than just reviewing them or making lists of my favourites. I don’t how long I’ll be doing this for but it’s a nice way to create a different type of content for this blog. Maybe it’ll evolve into something different where I highlight a specific book or author or topic every Monday (or maybe another day). However, until I get to that point I’ll be using the prompts from Musing Mondays.

I just like to answer the random question put forth and this week’s random question is: Are there any particular worlds in books in which you’d like to live?


Most of the books I read are set in dystopian worlds and I’d hate to live in that type of world. I really don’t want to be shoved into a maze for ‘science’ and I don’t want to watch children fight to the death for entertainment. I should really stop reading so many dystopian novels.

I’d usually say the Wizarding World of Harry Potter for a question like this but it seems like terribly old fashioned community. Maybe I’d live there if wizards had more modern technology and weren’t so isolated. Having magic would be cool but the isolated nature of the wizarding community would really freak me out. How can you learn anything if you’re not exposed to other people?

I guess that Narnia sounds like a great place to live but only once it’s liberated from the White Witch. She froze Narnia for 100 years. It’d be awful to live in a place like that. No thank you.

I genuinely can’t think of a world created by a writer where I’d actually want to live. Our own world has conflict and discrimination (and it seems more and more like a dystopian universe with every passing day) but at least it’s our world and we can change it. Saying that, I wouldn’t even like to live in the Regency era portrayed by Jane Austen because the idea of making myself attractive to men by learning how to sew and do other ‘female things’ makes me feel slightly ill.

So, I think the answer to this question is that I love living in this world as it is now, despite its major flaws, and any writer that can portray it accurately while still finding ways give hope to those that need it deserves recognition. I think that a lot can be learnt from books set in the present day because they force us to examine our own actions and lives.


Is there any fictional world that you’d like to live in?

12 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – Fictional Worlds I’d (Not) Like to Live In

    1. Thank you 🙂 I think when you read dystopian fiction it makes you appreciate the world you live in more. It also helps you to see the problems with your own world but at least we can do something about those problems 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

