Books

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Thankful For

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Thanksgiving freebie. Which is a bit weird since I’m British and therefore don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. It’s always nice to think about what you’re thankful for though so this week I’m doing Five Books I’m Thankful For

All images and titles take you to Goodreads.


1984 cover1. 1984 by George Orwell

This is the book that I carried around with me everywhere between the ages of 14 and 16. I used to read it at school during class, especially music class, I read it on public transport, I even read it when I was at the hairdressers. I just adore this book and it’s one of the reasons that I now have a degree in English Literature. It’s definitely the reason that I love dystopian fiction so much.

Dracula 12. Dracula by Bram Stoker

This is another novel that I read several times while I was at high school. It got me interested in Gothic fiction and it sort of taught me how to read 19th century novels because it’s so long and the language is somewhat complicated. It’s still one of the best vampire stories I’ve read to date but I am looking forward to reading Carmilla in the future.

A Midsummer Night's Dream3. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

Without Midsummer I wouldn’t be where I am today. I wouldn’t have discovered my love of Shakespeare, I wouldn’t have taken English Literature at A Level, I wouldn’t have done a BA in English Lit and I certainly wouldn’t have done a masters in Medieval and Early Modern Literature. Reading this play at the tender age of 14 during my English lessons at high school made me into the person I am today. I owe a lot to William Shakespeare.

the-wee-free-men4. The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

The Wee Free Men is the first Discworld novel I ever read but it’s also the first book I ever borrowed from my Granddad. After that we shared other Terry Pratchett books and we talked about them when we saw each other. When my Granddad passed on in 2012 I was given all of his Terry Pratchett books and reading his books makes me feel like my Granddad is still with me.

and finally…

twilight5. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I despise this book now but it fueled my love of reading. When I was about 13 I stopped reading because I didn’t find anything interesting any more but then the Twilight film came along and I just had to read the book after watching the film at the cinema with my friends. My friends and I decided to read all of the books together, like a mini book club, so that we could talk about them and whatnot. By the time the second film came out we hated the books but we still saw the film to make fun of it. It brought us closer together as friends back then and it also got me interested in reading again.


Which books are you thankful for?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Thankful For

  1. I’m actually amazed at how many people commend Twilight for getting them back into reading! Whether you like the book or not, it has it’s merits! Also I love the fact that it really opened up the YA paranormal genre – awesome.

    Great list and hope you’re having a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that many people grew out of it and moved on but it’ll always be the reason that some people started reading or began reading a different genre. It should be praised for that 🙂

      I am, thank you. I hope you’re having a lovely week too 🙂

      Like

  2. 1984 is such a brilliant book! It’s disturbing and unsettling and terrifying, but also really easy to relate to modern society. If only some of the people in power would read it…
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like Di said, it’s amazing how many people cite Twilight. Even if it’s hard to go back to or not that good, it did help a lot of people become readers apparently! Kinda cool. And Midsummer Night’s Dream- have never read it (I should) but I love the concepts and the movie version I saw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’re looking for a stage version of A Midsummer’s Night Dream to watch then I’d recommend the 2013 version from Shakespeare’s Globe! But it’s such a funny play and that comes across even when you’re just reading it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

