Books

Musing Mondays -ARC Book Reviews and An Author I’d Trust with my Life (Story)

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at Books and a Beat which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question is: If you were a character, which author would you trust with your life (to write your story)?


Last week I published a book review for He, She and It by Marge Piercy. I wrote it for a new edition of the book which will be released on the 1st of December 2016. This was my first experience of reading and reviewing a book before its release date (even though He, She and It was published in 1991).

I requested the book because I had read Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy during my undergrad degree and I loved it even though it’s an incredibly weird book. I saw that He, She and It was a cyberpunk novel and I knew that I had to request it. I enjoyed the whole process because you’re not being forced to write a positive review by a publisher. Sometimes they do ask you to review the book in several places as well as giving feedback to them directly but that’s advertising your blog/goodreads account as much as it is advertising the book.

It’s safe to say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading He, She and It and the edition that I read is edited well and it’s nicely put together. Of course, you can buy any edition of He, She and It (just remember that it’s called Body of Glass for the older non-US editions) but I’d definitely recommend reading it.

I’m going to leave links to the places that you can read my review in case you want to check them out:

I have two more ARCs, both of which are coming out in January 2017, so I’m looking forward to reading and reviewing them. I’m also looking forward to requesting more books in the future.


Random question: If you were a character, which author would you trust with your life (to write your story)?

I’d trust Maggie Stiefvater to write my life story because she’d fill it with magic and wonder but also darkness which serves to illuminate the goodness in life. I know that she writes amazing female characters so my story wouldn’t be one-dimensional and it wouldn’t focus on the (non-existent) romance in my life. I’d trust Maggie Stiefvater to make my life story realistic but also spellbinding and I know that she’d add in lots of folklore and mythology which I have a fascination with.

Which author would you trust with your life story?

14 thoughts on “Musing Mondays -ARC Book Reviews and An Author I’d Trust with my Life (Story)

  1. Great post! I haven’t read read any of Stiefvater’s books yet, though I do have The Raven Boys sitting on my TBR shelf. I think my number one choice would be Schwab as I think she writes some really fun and independent female characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

