Books

WWW Wednesday – 30th November 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading:

The Simarillion coverThe Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien

I haven’t made much progress on this book because I’ve been reading other books instead. I will pick it up again today (after I’ve finished work and before I’m a Celebrity comes on TV) and I hope that I’ll be able to get a decent chunk of it read over Thursday and Friday too. Maybe I’ll even finish it on Friday. Or maybe not.

I’ll be reviewing this as soon as I’ve completed it so hopefully it should be up next week sometime.

Paradise LostParadise Lost by John Milton

I haven’t had much time to read Paradise Lost this week but I’m hoping to make some progress on it in the coming week. I do love this poem though and I’m enjoying my very thorough read through.

I hope to have this book completed by this time next week but who knows when I’ll actually have the time to read it.

the case-book of sherlock holmesThe Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

I’m loving this book. I really enjoy the collections of short stories about Sherlock Holmes and this is no exception. I’ve decided that when I’ve finished this book I’m going to re-read The Valley of Fear and His Last Bow so that I can review these books together.

It usually takes me a bit longer to read the short stories collections than the novels though because I find them easier to put down for a while.


Recently Finished:

infamousInfamous by Sherrilyn Kenyon

I did enjoy this book once I got into it but I think that I need to re-read the first two books in the series and then read this one again. So, until I’ve done that I won’t be rating or reviewing this book because I was lost for the first half of the book. I just think it’s unfair to judge this book when I read the first two books over four years ago and can’t remember anything about the series.

The Girl who Played with FireThe Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

I love this book. I think that it’s even better than the first book and I love the first book a lot. I’m just so glad that I decided to re-read this trilogy because it’s one of my favourite series’ ever and I just love all of the books.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is next and I can’t wait to get stuck into it.

I’ll be reviewing this book when I’ve re-read the whole original trilogy. 


What I’m Reading Next:

The Girl who Kicked the Horent's NestThe Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

This is the final book in the original Millennium trilogy and I’m so looking forward to starting it. I’m going to start it after I’ve finished Paradise Lost because that’s quite an intricate text and it’ll nice to read something thrilling and exciting after I’ve finished such an epic poem.

I decided to re-read the original trilogy because I just couldn’t get into the newer book, The Girl in the Spider’s Web, and I’m really hoping that by re-reading the first three books I can enjoy the new one.


What are you reading this week?

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 30th November 2016

  1. I find it difficult to finish short story collections as well. I had started Neil Gaiman’s Fragile Things near the beginning of the year and I’m still not done. I put it down for too long and just ran through my novels. With any luck I’ll finish it before 2018 😉
    Enjoy your reread of the final book in the series. You keep making me excited to pick them up next year! I hope it helps you get into the new one.
    Happy Reading 🙂
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/www-wednesday-30-11-16/

    Like

Leave a Reply

