Books

Musing Mondays – Fantastic Beasts Screenplay and Childhood Library Adventures

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at Books and a Beat which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question is: Do you visit your local library regularly? If so, what’s your earliest memory of visiting a library?


fantastic-beasts-screenplayI’d just like to talk about the Fantastic Beasts screenplay today because I’m rather annoyed by J. K. Rowling’s new trend of publishing screenplays/scripts. I think that I understand the need with The Cursed Child because it’s only on the West End in London and not everyone can afford to see it, especially if they’re travelling from the other side of the world. I can’t even afford to go to London to see it and I live in the UK. Saying that, I don’t think I’d want to see The Cursed Child because the plot sounds a bit insane.

However, Fantastic Beasts is much more accessible and I really don’t think there’s any need for the screenplay to be published (beyond the beautiful cover). I just think it’s a bit of an opportunity to make more money and I’m not impressed. I do think that so much of the profit from this book is going to Comic Relief but I don’t know. I think I’d just prefer an actual book.

Does anyone feel the same way or am I just cynical?


Random question: Do you visit your local library regularly? If so, what’s your earliest memory of visiting a library?

My local library is terrible and it barely has any books in it. I don’t visit it at all because it’s mostly computers now but when I was a child it was amazing. I adored going to the library and I have very vivid memories of it.

I remember going when I was very young, about 5 years old or so, and sitting among the extremely tall shelves reading books from The Magic Key series. It was often my sister that accompanied me to the library when I was very young because she had reading to do for her GCSEs but both of my parents took me too on the weekends and they’d sit in the cafe while I ran around getting lost in magical fictional worlds. I wish my local library was still as magical as it was when I was a child but unfortunately libraries in the UK are declining and I’ll never recapture that magic of my childhood days spent in the library.

 

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – Fantastic Beasts Screenplay and Childhood Library Adventures

  1. Oh no, that’s awful to hear that your libraries are declining! I always enjoy going to my local library, as it’s usually pretty busy and there are sooooo many bookshelves to browse. It’s such a shame that this isn’t the case everywhere nowadays.

    Like

  2. I have magical memories of childhood library visits…and while our neighborhood branch now is awesome, I seldom go there, except to deliver donations…or to pick up a book I requested online. I try not to browse, as I have a lot of books that I’ve purchased that I want to read first.

    I need to get back to library visits! Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

  3. So you’re right the Cursed Child plot is insane. The best characters were the Malfoys interestingly enough.

    Inclined to agree with you re: Fantastic beasts would have preferred a novelization! That being said the art on the beautiful cover extends throughout so far.

    I’ve heard libraries in the UK are in decline 😦 makes me extra sad because it’s my dream to live in the UK and I’m a library pro haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a shame they’re in decline but my university had four awesome libraries so maybe our universities should be in charge of maintaining our local libraries too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

