Books

Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016. 

I didn’t read too many books by authors that were new to me. I’m trying to branch out more into different authors and genres but it just didn’t work out in 2016. So, this is more like a list of New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016 rather than the best new-to-me authors of 2016.


Throne of Glass cover1. Sarah J. Maas

I’ve only read one book by Sarah J. Maas and that was back in May but since then I’ve invested in a few of her other books, including the much hyped A Court of Thorns and Roses so I shall be reading more of her books in 2017. I did enjoy Throne of Glass a lot, even if the main character is very annoying, and you can read my review of it here.

High-Rise2. J. G. Ballard

I’m very interested in reading more of Ballard’s novels after reading the dystopian novel High-Rise which is one of the most insane books that I have ever read. It’s been so long since I read it that I will need to re-read it before I review it. I’m planning on reading Crash at some point in 2017 which is another dystopian novel and I’d like to read his short story collection Vermilion Sands too.

the night manager3. John le Carré

I only read The Night Manager after watching the TV series. I did enjoy it but it was very different to the BBC mini series and I was happy about that because it meant that the book still surprised me. I really need to review the book but, like High-Rise, I’ll have to re-read it before I review it. I think my next le Carré novel will be Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy because it’s a classic and I need to read it at some point.

The Woman in Black4. Susan Hill

The Woman in Black is a fantastic little ghost story and I’m so glad that I decided to read it in 2016. I loved Hill’s writing style which is incredibly descriptive and immersive and I appreciated her commitment to making the book as close to the original Gothic novels as possible. I’d like to read The Mist in the Mirror or her Serrailler series next but I’m having a tough time deciding between reading her ghost stories or her crime fiction. My review of The Woman in Black.

angels-blood 5. Nalini Singh

My best friend has bugged me for the last couple of years to read her favourite author Nalini Singh so this year I decided that I’d finally humour her. I did enjoy the book that I read by her but it’s not my favourite book. It confirmed that I have a very different taste in literature to my best friend but that’s okay. I will read the sequel to Angel’s Blood eventually but I don’t think I’d buy the books for myself. I’ll just have to keep borrowing them from my friend. My review of Angel’s Blood.

The Vampyre6. John Polidori

I’ve read a lot of literature from the Romantic era before but I had never read anything by John Polidori until this year. I knew that he was Lord Byron’s physician and lover but I didn’t know that he was a writer too. I loved reading The Vampyre and I’d very much like to read some of his other work too, most of which seems to be poetry. You can read my review of The Vampyre along with some other short macabre tales here.

Zofloya7. Charlotte Dacre

Zofloya is amazing and it’s one of my favourite books ever. It’s one of those books that I’d love to make everyone read even though they’d hate me for it. I just love it. Charlotte Dacre was so incredibly clever and daring in this book and I definitely plan on re-reading it at some point in the future. I’m having a difficult time finding editions of her other three novels but I will continue my search in the hopes of finding at least one.


That’s it! I only managed to get to 7 before running out of authors. I’m sure that I’ll remember a few more after posting this but I can’t think of any right now.

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

  1. So many great writers!
    I also discovered Sarah J. Maas and JG Ballard this year!
    I remember reading The Woman in Black a few years back (unintentional rhyme ;P) and loved it so much. I meant to read another Susan Hill this year, but didn’t get around to it.
    I read Le Carré’s Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy before I watched the movie and I quite enjoyed it. The Night Manager is going to be my next of his 😉
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

