Books

Books to Read at Christmas

Christmas Stories I Want to Read.png

It’s getting closer to Christmas with every passing day and I’ve realised that I don’t read Christmas stories. I put A Christmas Carol on my TBR for this month in a random burst of Christmas spirit but it also got me thinking about other Christmas books that I could read in the future.

I’ve never read any of these so they’re just books that I’m adding to my book wishlist. If you’ve read any of them then please let me know what you think of them!

All links take you to goodreads.


tolkien-lettersLetters from Father Christmas by J. R. R. Tolkien

This book is basically a collection of letters that Tolkien sent to his children every year pretending to be Father Christmas. It looks like an incredibly heartwarming book as you’re allowed to see another side of the amazing author. It’s edited by Christopher Tolkien’s wife which means that it’s a family affair and it’s not too invasive.

I’ve seen a few people on Instagram with this book and it looks very pretty but the content sounds just as lovely.

the-adventure-of-the-christmas-puddingThe Adventure Of The Christmas Pudding by Agatha Christie

This is a collection of Poirot stories and it’d be perfect for Christmas. I’d just love to read a Christmas mystery written by the great Agatha Christie.

This collection includes: The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding (a.k.a The Theft of the Royal Ruby), The Mystery of the Spanish Chest, The Under Dog, Four and Twenty Blackbirds, The Dream, and Greenshaw’s Folly.

christmas-days-12-storiesChristmas Days: 12 Stories and 12 Feasts for 12 Days by Jeanette Winterson

This is a much newer book than the others I’ve mentioned and it’s a collection of Christmas stories by Jeanette Winterson. I’ve seen it floating about the internet for the last month and I’d really like to read it. The cover is beautiful and I love the idea of an anthology of short Christmas stories because they’d be perfect to read on cold winter evenings with a nice cup of tea.

little-womenLittle Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women is already on my must read list for 2017 because it’s a classic written by a woman and I’m aiming to read a lot of classics by women next year. However, it’s also a Christmas story as four sisters face Christmas without their father who is fighting in the American Civil War. I was going to read it fairly soon into the new year, maybe in March for Women’s History Month, but now I think I’ll wait until next December (even though it’s so far away) to indulge in this classic.

hogfatherHogfather by Terry Pratchett

This is one of the few Terry Pratchett books that I don’t own but I’d really love to read it. In 2017 I’m going to be working my way through the Discworld novels in publication order and this was the 20th book to be published. I don’t know when (or if) I’ll get to it in 2017 but I’m excited to read it.

I haven’t even seen the film so I have no idea what goes on in the novel.

the-12-terrors-of-xmasThe Twelve Terrors Of Christmas by John Updike

What better way to celebrate Christmas than with some not-so-classic renditions of Christmas traditions. Apparently this book is perfect for any bah humbug (aka, me) so I’d love to read it. It’s also illustrated by Edward Gorey which just adds a whole new dimension to the mayhem that’s depicted in this book. It was out of print for a while but it was republished in 2006 so it’s available for everyone to read and enjoy now.

the-stupidest-angelThe Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore

It’s a story about a stupid angel who tries to grant a child’s Christmas wish and it all goes terribly wrong. This book sounds hilarious and I really need to read it. I’m seriously considering placing an order for it when I get paid next week so that I can read it over Christmas.

 

7 thoughts on “Books to Read at Christmas

  1. I’m rereading Little Women this Christmas! It’s one of my favourite books and such a perfect Christmas read 🙂
    I still need to read Tolkien’s Letters to Father Christmas. I had hoped to get to it this year. Maybe the next one…
    Great list. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

