Books

ARC Book Review: Inspector Hobbes and the Bones by Wilkie Martin

inspector-hobbes-4Title: Inspector Hobbes and the Bones
Author: Wilkie Martin
Genre: Mystery / Fantasy
Release Date: 
16th December 2016
Publisher: The Witcherley Book Company
ISBN 13: 9781910302040
Pages: 319
Started: 9th December 2016
Completed: 19th December 2016
Rating: 4/5
Summary: There’s going to be trouble. Andy Caplet’s wife goes away, someone is out to get him, and he loses nearly everything in a storm. Amazing both himself and his unhuman friend Inspector Hobbes, he heroically rescues flood victims and uncovers something shocking. Is Andy being set up for blackmail by the apparently charming young woman who attempts to seduce him, or is something even more sinister afoot? Hobbes certainly believes so, and he’s getting worried.

I received a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Wilkie Martin, and the publisher, The Witcherley Book Company, for this opportunity.

All links take you to Goodreads.


Inspector Hobbes and the Bones is the fourth book in Wilkie Martin’s ‘unhuman’ series. The previous books in the series are:

It was published on the 16th of December and there’s a giveaway on Goodreads if you want to check it out.


This book is so charming, from the setting to the characters, and it’s just good fun. I was almost overwhelmed by the charming, cosy feel to this book. It’s a mystery but it’s not dark and edgy, unlike the other mysteries that have dominated for the past couple of years, instead it’s almost comforting and I really enjoyed this aspect of the book.

The writer’s style is also very easy-going and it feels very natural to read. My only problem with the writing was the constant use of the word ‘loping’ to describe how Inspector Hobbes moves but that’s such a small aspect of the book that it didn’t annoy me too much. Also, there were a few run-on sentences but I haven’t read the final version of the book so I’d imagine they’ve been sorted. Also, they’re a natural part of writing. This would have been an incredibly quick read if life (aka, work) didn’t get in the way. I could easily see myself curling up with this book, or maybe one of the others in the series, in front of the fire on a cold winter’s evening.

I really liked most of the characters. They’re all odd and some are not quite human but I enjoyed Andy’s character the most. Andy is human and was a failed journalist but now he’s a successful food critic for his local paper. However, life is not smooth sailing for Andy as he’s just hit with disaster after disaster within the book. Whenever Andy tries to do something good there’s an inevitable misunderstanding and he seems to be on the receiving end of rather a lot of hatred in this book. That being said, Andy makes an excellent human sidekick to Inspector Hobbes and their relationship reminded me of the Holmes-Watson dynamic at first.

I enjoyed the plot and the interwoven mysteries that need solving by Hobbes and Andy were well thought out. On NetGalley there is a note saying that ‘it is not necessary to have read the previous books in the series’ but I kind of disagree with that. I think that it works well as a standalone book but I think the experience of reading this book could be enriched by reading at least the first book in the series, Inspector Hobbes and the Blood. However, I haven’t read any of the books in the series so that’s just my opinion formed on the reviews I’ve read of the first book and the summary of the first book.

I would definitely recommend this book because it’s just really fun and lighthearted and I love the fact that it doesn’t take itself too seriously but it’s still a very good mystery at the same time. It’s currently on my Amazon wishlist so that I remember to buy it when I have the chance.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars as a rating because it’s fun and very different to what I’ve read lately. I just enjoyed it a lot.

2 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Inspector Hobbes and the Bones by Wilkie Martin

Leave a Reply

