Books

Musing Mondays: Reading During the Holiday Season

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker (formally hosted at Books and a Beat) which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: Do you tend to find that you make more time to read during the holiday season? Or do you have less time to read because of the hustle of the season?


So, today I’m only going to answer the random question since I’m ill. I have not got the patience to come up with a topic of my own today.

The random question this week is: Do you tend to find that you make more time to read during the holiday season? Or do you have less time to read because of the hustle of the season?

I don’t have a lot of time for reading during the holiday season and it’s really annoying actually. I’ve worked in retail since I was 17 so the Christmas period is very busy for me. For example, I worked from 9am till 4pm yesterday and the only reason I wasn’t working longer is because the UK has a decent Sunday Trading Hours law. The shop was stupidly busy yesterday and I was rushed off of my feet all day. I’m back at work tonight, Wednesday, and on Christmas Eve and the days I get off this week are spent shopping and wrapping up presents. I haven’t got the time nor the patience to read much which is why my reading has stalled recently. I have bought A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens to read over the next week in the run up to Christmas so hopefully I’ll have time to read that.

I didn’t even have a job last year but I couldn’t read what I wanted to because I was in the middle of my master’s degree. It was so annoying because I had to write assignments on certain books but other/easier books were calling my name. It wasn’t to be though.

I really wish that I had more time to read over the holiday season.

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: Reading During the Holiday Season

    1. I mean, I was the one going crazy with the shopping yesterday (and I will be tomorrow too) but that’s because I’ve had no time or money to buy presents this year. I think I’ll do all of my shopping online next year.

      Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

