Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Father Christmas Leaving Under My Tree

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Father Christmas Leaving Under My Tree

I could list so many books for this prompt but I’m going to stick to just 10. Also, yes, I have changed it from ‘Santa’ to ‘Father Christmas’ because that’s the name that I’ve always called him and it’s weird to call him Santa. Just saying.


insomnia1. Insomnia by Stephen King

I’ve wanted this book for a while now but I’ve never gotten around to purchasing it myself. I probably shouldn’t read it since I actually have insomnia but who cares. I want to be scared to death by Stephen King this Christmas. I’d be happy with any Stephen King novel, though. Especially The Shining or something like that.

LotR2. The Lord of the Rings collection by J. R. R. Tolkien

I’d love to have this collection or this collection of the Lord of the Rings books. Or maybe even this collection. I’d just really like a boxed set of these books. I’ll probably buy them for myself if they’re not under the Christmas tree on Sunday but I just think that they’d make a wonderful gift.

without fail3. Without Fail by Lee Child

I really enjoy the Jack Reacher books and this is the next one in the series for me. I have some other random books, including the latest three and the 10th book in the series, but I do want to read them in publication order. I have been meaning to buy this for months now but I’ve been short on money so it’s been pushed to the back of the list several times. I do plan on reading a lot of Jack Reacher books in 2017 though so hopefully I’ll have it before the start of the year.

equal-rites4. Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett

I inherited most of my Discworld novels from my grandad when he passed away but he didn’t own a copy of Equal Rites when he passed away because he was fond of swapping books at markets, especially when he was in Spain. So, I need it to be one step closer to completing my grandad’s/my collection. I’d love to get it for Christmas since we had a tradition of buying my grandad Discworld novels for Christmas.

the-stepford-wives5. The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin

I have no idea why I want to read this but the concept both fascinates and scares me. I’m definitely going to read it in 2017 so whether it’s under the tree or not on Sunday it will be on my bookshelves very soon. I’d just be very happy to receive it as a gift because it’s a book that I’ve wanted to read for a while now.

hp-2-illustrated6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling

Father Christmas was kind enough to leave the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone under the tree last year so I’m hoping that he’ll leave me the sequel this year. I don’t need any more Harry Potter books but the first illustrated book was just so beautiful and I imagine that this one is the same.

the aeneid7. Aeneid by Virgil

This is a bit odd because I’ve actually read Virgil’s Aeneid but I borrowed it from my university library. So, I’d like to own either the Loeb edition or even the Oxford University Press edition because they’re both great editions. I’m not sure if the OUP has the Latin alongside the translation though but I do trust those editions so I’d be happy with either. I’d never buy the Loeb edition for myself because it’s split into two volumes and they’re almost £20 each.

the-blazing-world8. The Blazing World by Margaret Cavendish

The Blazing World is a science fiction book written by a woman in 1666. What more could this science fiction and early modern loving feminist ask for? I would love to read this book and learn more about Margaret Cavendish too. I just love the period that she lived and wrote in, even if it is a bit too late for my own academic interests, and I love the literature that was produced during that time. I know that I’ll love this book.

edgar-allan-poe9. The Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe by Edgar Allan Poe

I read The Tell-Tale Heart a few months ago and loved it so I’d really like to read more of Poe’s work. I think that a collection of Poe’s work under the tree this Christmas would be the perfect gift and if it isn’t there I’ll invest in it myself. There’s a fair amount of different collections to choose from but I really like the Penguin one. The colour of it is insane but it’s a complete collection.

Six of crows10. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve been wanting to read this much-hyped book for a while now. My best friend owns it and she’s offered to lend it to me but I really would like my own copy. Plus, she’s lent me so many books recently (and she gave me more today) that I just don’t know which books are her’s anymore. Anyway, I’d love to have this book under the Christmas tree on Christmas morning.

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Father Christmas Leaving Under My Tree

  1. All those LotR collections look great although I think I like the first one the best. The book spines are awesome. 🙂

    I’ve always kinda been interested in The Stepford Wives too probably because I like anything with clones or robots, that kinda stuff, and I’ve seen snippets of the movie. It looks creepy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love the first collection the most but they’re just so much more expensive than the others. It’s because they’re hardbacks though. The second collection would fit with my copy of The Silmarillion so I’d also like that one. There are too many choices!

      Like

  2. I would love an LotR box set as well. My current copies of it are secondhand ones that I’ve bought over the years, mostly when I was in elementary school and first started reading the Hobbit. And there are so many stunning editions nowadays!! Hope Santa brings you all the books you’ve asked for 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

