Books · Personal

Recap: 2016 Goals and Resolutions

Goals For 2016

Waaaaaayyyyy back on the 1st of January I set myself some goals for 2016. So, since it’s the 30th of December so I thought that this would be a great time to recap on those goals and see how I did.

I try to set myself realistic goals but life doesn’t always work out how you want it too. I tried my best though.


Personal goals

  • Exercise at least 3 times a week
  • Get to my goal weight of 10 stone 10 pounds by October
  • Make some changes to this blog – include a variety of different posts
  • Achieve at least a Merit in my MA
  • Be more sociable
  • Learn how to cook – especially parmigiana di melanzane
  • Save money for Florida
  • Wear lipstick and eyeshadow more often
  • Go to Magic Kingdom in Disney World, Florida
  • Be able to do the splits again

Okay, so I’m the ones that aren’t crossed out didn’t go according to plan. I’m going to go through these very quickly. I did make some changes to my blog in January but I realised that I wanted to be a book/literature blog rather than just a general lifestyle blog.

It was difficult to be sociable for me this year. I did interact more with other people in my classes but I wouldn’t call any of these people friends. I have been fairly isolated this year and I think that’s just who I am. I prefer my own company and I don’t know if that’s going to change.

I actually wore less make up this year than I did in 2015. I don’t know why.


Bookish goals

Re-read Challenge – I want to re-read three series’ this year.

  • Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (7 books)
  • The Millennium series by Stieg Larsson (3 books)
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan (5 books)

I loved re-reading these books.

Monthly book challenge:

  • Read a book that has been on my TBR for over 2 years
  • Read a book by an author I’ve never read before
  • Read a book that was given to me by my parents
  • Read an epic poem
  • Read a book that was published in the year I was born (1994)
  • Read a book that was published this year (2016)
  • Read a book that was published before 1900
  • Read a book that was originally written in another language and has been translated into English
  • Read a book with a one-word title
  • Read a book with 500+ pages
  • Read a book that was once banned in the UK
  • Read a book that is set during Christmas

I completed most of these but some just didn’t happen. Maybe next year. Or maybe not since

Goodreads Challenge:

  • To read 60 books this year

I read 70 books in 2016 so far. Yay!


That’s it for my 2016 goals recap. I will be posting some goals for 2017 in a few days or so.

5 thoughts on “Recap: 2016 Goals and Resolutions

  1. Totally get the being sociable thing – I always tell myself I should try and make a bit more of an effort to say yes to social gatherings but at the end of the day I feel much more comfortable with my own company (and a good book of course!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really difficult to force yourself into social situations when you’d rather be at home! People are just different and I’ve realised that I should do what makes me happy rather than forcing myself into uncomfortable situations 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

