Books

2016 End of Year Book Survey

The End of Year Book Survey is created every year by the amazing Perpetual Page-Turner! I did this for the first time last year since and I’m so glad that a 2016 edition has been created.

This is going to be a very long post so I’ll continue under the cut…


 

Number Of Books You Read: 73 (including re-reads)
Number of Re-Reads: 20
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

 

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Oh, this is such an unfair question. I have far too many that I thoroughly enjoyed. I’d have to say The Visitor by Lee Child. I just loved it.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I really did like this book but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I expected to. I just expected more from the protagonist but I’m going into the sequel with lowered expectations.

3. Most Surprising (in a good way or bad way) Book You Read?  

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness surprised me because it became my first DNF of 2016. I enjoyed it up to a certain point but then I just couldn’t continue. If you want to know why then you can read my spoiler-filled review here.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Zofloya by Charlotte Dacre and He, She and It by Marge Piercy. I don’t think that anyone has read either of them on my recommendation.

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

The best series I started was probably Throne of Glass because I didn’t read many series starters this year. The Scorch Trials was the best sequel I read this year. It was amazing and its the best book in the series in my opinion. Finally, the best series ender of 2016 was The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Ooh, Sarah J. Maas is an excellent author. I also love Charlotte Dacre but accessing her other work is proving to be a nightmare. I like J G Ballard too. John le Carre too. I’ve discovered too many great authors his year.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The only book that really took me out of my comfort zone was Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh because I’m not a fan of paranormal romances so by default it’s the best book that I read that was out of my comfort zone.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Visitor by Lee Child. I loved it.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Night Manager by John le Carre or High-Rise by JG Ballard because I’d like to review them and I really need to re-read them before that happens.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Paradise Lost by John Milton. It’s a clothbound classic and I adore it.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Dmitri from Angels’ Blood or Ronan from The Raven King.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Wow, I don’t really know. I’m usually most impressed by poetry when it comes to the beauty of language. Paradise Lost is a stunning poem and The Giaour by Lord Byron is another amazing poem that I read this year.

If I had to choose something other than a poem I’d choose The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster which is a beautifully written play from 1612.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

The most thought-provoking book I read in 2016 was He, She and It by Marge Piercy because it made me consider what qualities made us human.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Eragon by Christopher Paolini . It sat on my shelf for 10 years before I finally picked it up this year.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“Whether we fall by ambition, blood or lust
Like diamonds, we are cut with our own dust”
―  The Duchess of Malfi

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

At just 55 pages long Come Close by Sappho was the shortest book I read. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo was a whopping 1,232 pages long.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Zofloya by Charlotte Dacre. I don’t know what I was expecting from that book but it was just amazing. Weird but amazing.

18. OTP Of The Year

Gansey/Blue and Ronan/Adam from The Raven King.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

This one is difficult. I like the friendship between Blue and Henry Cheng in The Raven King but also the relationship between Celaena and Nehemia in Throne of Glass.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Animal Farm by George Orwell or The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick. I’d have to choose the latter if I was forced because it finally means that I no longer have bad memories attached to Philip K. Dick’s books.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

I read Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh purely because my best friend told me that I had to. She bullied me into it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Dmitri from Angels’ Blood even though he’s a sadistic killer vampire. I don’t know why I find him attractive but it’s weird and I’m not happy about it.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Did I read any debuts in 2016? No.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

He, She and It by Marge Piercy or Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Inspector Hobbes and the Bones by Wilkie Martin was so incredibly charming and it’s a really fun book. I really enjoyed how lighthearted it is while still being a great mystery novel.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

None. I’m emotionally dead.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

High-Rise by JG Ballard. It’s an incredible concept that’s been proven in real life several times (although maybe not to the extent of the book) and I always forget to include it in lists about the best books I read in 2016/

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

The Shipping News by Annie Proulx.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

An Historian About Town isn’t just a book blog but it’s one of my favourite blogs that I started following in 2016. I didn’t follow many new blogs in 2016 because I wasn’t blogging much but I really do like this blog.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Writing my review for Animal Farm by George Orwell was such a great experience and I’m actually really proud of it.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

A lot of my Top Ten Tuesday posts lead to good discussions but my best discussion post has been my Musing Mondays -ARC Book Reviews and An Author I’d Trust with my Life (Story) post.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I went to a talk and book signing by Maggie Stiefvater in Manchester with my best friend and it was amazing.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I think that September was a very big moment for me in 2016 because I was finally able to blog again properly after taking a few months off for my dissertation. I posted every single day in September, a feat that I’m hoping to replicate often in 2017.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I’ve had a difficult year in terms of blogging because I’ve lacked time. My MA dissertation really kicked my arse and I just couldn’t blog between May and September. I may have a similar problem between September and December 2017 if I start my PhD but hopefully I’ll be better prepared for it this time around.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most viewed post was the 100 Questions No-One Ever Asks Tag.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any of my reviews. I really need to work on getting my reviews out there but it could be because I don’t review popular new releases.

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I don’t know. I can’t really think of any. I found wordery.com and I like it as an alternative to Amazon but that’s about it.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I had a few set but I actually only completed my Goodreads challenge. That’s why I’m only setting myself a Goodreads challenge in 2017.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. 2017 is going to be the year that I read most of my Discworld novels, especially since I own all of them now (except the three that are on order).

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I don’t know. I don’t read many debut novels.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

I’m looking forward to reading The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan since I really enjoyed The Hidden Oracle. 

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I hope to make a serious dent in my TBR and I also hope to make this blog into something that I’m proud of.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I’m almost done with Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land and I’m loving it. At this point in time I would recommend it to everyone.


That’s it for another year. I’m looking forward to 2017!

One thought on “2016 End of Year Book Survey

  1. The first ToG book seems to have underwhelmed a lot of people but the series does get better! I wish you better luck with the sequen 🙂 YES to The Raven King and The Raven Cycle ships♥ I might have owned Eragon for close to ten years to and I STILL haven’t read it D: I loved reading your answers here^^ Happy 2017! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

