Books

December 2016 Recap

month recap

December is often my least favourite month of the year because it’s so busy and I just can’t deal with the holidays. It’s been a stressful month and I haven’t blogged much. Oh well.


Personal:

December has been very hectic since I’ve been working a lot but I still managed to do a lot of Christmas shopping and even meet up with my best friend. Christmas Day and Boxing Day were excellent this year. We spent some time at my sister’s house on Christmas morning to see my nieces and nephew before heading home to eat a gorgeous Christmas dinner. Christmas is about family for me and we were very lucky this year since we all had Boxing Day off from work. We spent the day watching films and eating leftovers from our Christmas dinner. It was joyful.

I am working tonight but only until 7pm and I’m not working tomorrow so hopefully I can have a great New Year’s Eve with my family. I’m not going out to a party because I’ll just want to get into my pyjamas after work. I’m so lazy.

2016 has been both a good year (for me personally) and a bad year (for the world in general) but I’m hoping that 2017 will bring stability and peace along with happiness and good memories.


Posts:


Books I’ve read:

  • The Hammer of Thor
  • The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
  • Good Me, Bad Me (ARC)
  • A Christmas Carol
  • Inspector Hobbes and the Bones (ARC)
  • Paradise Lost

Total: 6 books


Books I’ve bought:

  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
  • Without Fail by Lee Child
  • Persuader by Lee Child
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Total: 5 books

Books I’ve been gifted:

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling and Jim Kay
  • Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
  • Pyramids by Terry Pratchett
  • Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett
  • Moving Pictures by Terry Pratchett
  • Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett
  • Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett
  • Lords and Ladies by Terry Pratchett
  • Men at Arms by Terry Pratchett
  • Maskerade by Terry Pratchett
  • Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett
  • Hogfather by Terry Pratchett
  • Jingo by Terry Pratchett
  • The Last Continent (signed) by Terry Pratchett
  • The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett
  • Raising Steam by Terry Pratchett
  • The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter
  • Why I Am So Clever by  Friedrich Nietzsche
  • A Smidgen of Shakespeare

Total: 19 books


December Goals:

  • Buy Christmas presents for: my parents, my nieces, and my nephew.
  • Decorate the house for Christmas
  • Enjoy Christmas
  • Continue PhD applications
  • Post at least 4 reviews
  • Complete all of my book goals and challenges
  • Set a TBR for 2017
  • Set some (personal and bookish) goals for 2017

January Goals

  • Graduate (again)
  • Submit PhD application
  • Submit funding application
  • Post at least 4 reviews
  • Read everything on my TBR

I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

Leave a Reply

