Books

January 2017 TBR

jan-tbr

“January brings the snow,
Makes our feet and fingers glow.”
–  Sara Coleridge

Wow. It’s 2017. I graduate from my MA in 12 days. I’m almost ready to send off my PhD applications. I feel like 2017 is going to be a good year.

This year’s monthly TBRs are going to look a little different. Last year I didn’t give myself a lot of freedom when it came to what I was reading and I really missed just being able to pick up a book when I wanted to. So, this year I’m just going to put 3 books in my monthly TBRs and the rest of the books I read that month will be random. The three books I include are going to be the books that I most want to read in that month so I’ll probably read those first.

Also, I’m starting afresh this year. Anything that didn’t get read in 2016 (aka, most of my December TBR) is not going be carried over into my January TBR unless I really want to read it. I’m not forcing myself to read anything in 2017 (unless it’s for my PhD). It’s the same for reviews too. Any books that weren’t reviewed in 2016 will have to be re-read before being reviewed and that may or may not happen in 2017.

Anyways, let’s get on with my first TBR of 2017!


The Martian by Andy Weir

Summary:

the martianA mission to Mars. A freak accident. One man’s struggle to survive.

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills—and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength–he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive.

But Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.


American Gods by Neil Gaiman

American Gods coverSummary:

Days before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.

Scary, gripping and deeply unsettling, American Gods takes a long, hard look into the soul of America. You’ll be surprised by what – and who – it finds there…


The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

the colour of magic coverSummary:

In the beginning there was…a turtle.

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell very much like our own, but which looks completely different. Particularly as it’s carried through space on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown). It plays by different rules.

But then, some things are the same everywhere. The Disc’s very existence is about to be threatened by a strange new blight: the world’s first tourist, upon whose survival rests the peace and prosperity of the land. Unfortunately, the person charged with maintaining that survival in the face of robbers, mercenaries and, well, Death, is a spectacularly inept wizard…


What are you reading this month?

5 thoughts on “January 2017 TBR

Leave a Reply

