Books · Personal

Musing Mondays: 2016 and 2017 Book Challenges

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: Have you joined any challenges in reading for the new year? Do you have any general goals book or even not book related for 2017?


I’m just going to do the random question this week.

In 2016 I participated in a few challenges and then I created a few myself. I didn’t finish the Classics Challenge or the When Are You Reading? Challenge. I did complete my own Re-read challenge and the Goodreads Challenge but I didn’t complete my Prompt Challenge. I didn’t do well to be honest.

That’s why I’m not taking part in any challenges in 2017. Well, except the Goodreads Challenge. I am taking part in an Instagram reading challenge, the #HPReadingChallenge, where every book you read counts as a point towards your House’s total. It’s not really a challenge but it’s a nice way to kick off the year without putting too much pressure on myself.

I’m still trying to decide what my goals are for 2017 but I’m sure I’ll have a post up about it in a few days.


Do you have any goals for 2017?

12 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: 2016 and 2017 Book Challenges

  1. Remember not to be to tough on yourself for not completing a challenge. 🙂 I am hard on myself sometimes too. I hope the Goodreads and other challenges go well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what challenges should be used for, to spend more time doing what you love! I’m just going to take it easy in 2017 and read the books I want to read 🙂

      Like

    1. Ooh, I like that you’re aiming to read a certain amount of non-fiction books! I don’t usually read them because I’m usually knee-deep in research and reading essays and whatnot but I think I’d like to read some this year. Do you have a favourite?

      I’m sure you’ll find some challenges that catch your eye! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you 🙂 I’m looking forward to the challenge. Not sure I have a favourite, but at the moment, I’m settled on reading Peter Ackroyd’s History of England series and Ron Chernow’s Hamilton.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

