Books · Personal

2017 Goals

2017-goals-1

Happy New Year everyone!

So, 2017 is now upon us and I’ve spent the last few days sorting out some realistic goals for this year. 2016 was an odd year but it’s in the past now and I really want to focus on the future.

I did a quick recap of my 2016 goals a few days ago which you can read here but now it’s time to think about the year ahead…


Personal goals

  • Start my PhD – I’m currently applying for both my place and funding so hopefully this will happen
  • Take my camera out more often. I’d like more photos of my friends and family as well as any special places I visit.
  • Go to the cinema on average once a month (and maybe write some film reviews)
  • Spend more time with my friends
  • Eat healthily
  • Learn how to cook new recipes
  • Blog at least 4 times per week and include a variety of bookish/literature posts. (Not just memes!)
  • Save money

Bookish goals

  • Read an equal amount of books by male and female authors (50 each)
  • Read more ‘classic’ books by women.
  • Read more new releases
  • Read at least one Discworld novel every month (except in March)
  • Read at least one Jack Reacher novel every month (except March)
  • Dedicate March to female writers since it’s Women’s History Month
  • Write more reviews
  • Write more ARC reviews

Goodreads Challenge:

  • ReadΒ 100Β books this year

This is a big jump from last year but I’m sure that I can make it happen. Last year I restricted my reading choices so much by having set TBRs and I think it hindered my reading somewhat. So this year I’m not going to do that. I’m still going to have monthly TBRs but they’ll be smaller which means that I can be more flexible with my reading.


What are your goals for 2017?

If you have any recommendations for classics written by women then I’d love to hear them!Β 

16 thoughts on “2017 Goals

  1. I would also love to read more classics by women authors in 2017! Some authors I’d recommend are Willa Cather, Kate Chopin, Margaret Mitchell, the Brontes, and Jane Austen (of course). Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have goals similar to you. I definitely need to take more photos when I’m out, I probably need a phone with a better camera on, but I would love maybe an instax or something similar.
    Good luck with your goals! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful goals, I especially love how you’re aiming for equality in gender this year.
    Not sure what you’ve read already, but I highly recommend Elizabeth Gaskell (North & South was one of my favourite reads this year) and George Eliot.
    Happy Reading πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell and North & South has been on my TBR for ages. I think it might be time to read it. I’ll definitely read some George Elliot novels too. Thanks for the suggestions 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading more classics by women is an excellent goal and one I give myself every year more or less LOL! I should focus on reading more new releases too but I got myself in a slump that way a few years back and I haven’t forgotten it – I guess I just need older books more than most hehe! Good luck with all your goals for the new year and Happy 2017!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read so many older books (pre-1800 mostly 😧) that I’d like to read more current stuff too. I love older book though so I know how you feel πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Those sound some great goals. Most of mine are writing and reading related. I actually read two Lee Child books towards the end of last year. The Enemy and my favourite so far, Gone Tomorrow. The family friend lends them out so doesn’t always have all of them when I’m there so I’m always reading them out of sequence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My next Lee Child book is Without Fail I think. I’m not really sure to be honest.

      I don’t have writing goals because I don’t write, unless it’s academic writing, but it’s nice to have goals for something other than reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

