Authors · Books

Author Spotlight: Sir Terry Pratchett

author-spotlight

In 2017 I’m going to do a post once a month about one of my favourite authors. They’re just going to be short posts about the author’s background, some of their most famous works, and which of their books that I love the most. These posts are just a different way to share my love of certain books and authors.

This month is going to be Sir Terry Pratchett because I’m aiming to read at least one Discworld novel per month this year and I thought that it’d be a great way to talk about the wonder of his Discworld series.


Pratchett was born on in 1948 in Buckinghamshire, England and he published his first short story, “Business Rivals”, in the High Wycombe Technical School magazine in 1962. His first story to be published commercially was ‘The Hades Business’ which was The Shepherd's Crown coverpublished when Pratchett was just 15. 

Pratchett is best known for his Discworld series but he also wrote science fiction novels, children’s books, and he often collaborated with other authors. Pratchett even rewrote his first novel, The Carpet People, after it became successful. Pratchett was the UK’s best-selling author of the 1990s and his books have been translated into 37 languages. He won several awards during his lifetime, including the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement in 2010.

Pratchett was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease in 2007 but he continued writing until his death in 2015 with the final Discworld novel, The Shepherd’s Crown, being released five months after his death. He left several unfinished works but his daughter has stated that she will not publish them and people should respect her decision.


Good Omens coverMost of my family love Terry Pratchett’s books and I found his books through my late granddad who read all of Terry Pratchett’s books until he died in 2012. My granddad left me his Terry Pratchett books and they sit proudly alongside my own. My nieces and nephew also love his children’s stories so it’s something we share as a family.

My favourite books by Terry Pratchett are Good Omens, a collaboration with Neil Gaiman, and the Tiffany Aching series which are young adult Discworld novels. I’ve just completed The Colour of Magic which is one of the best series beginnings that I’ve ever read and I look forward to starting The Light Fantastic next week.

Terry Pratchett was one of the best fantasy writers that Britain has ever known and his body of work is vast and amazing. He will remain one of my favourite writers for years to come.

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Sir Terry Pratchett

Leave a Reply

