Books

Musing Mondays: Reading When I’m Busy

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: How do you make time for reading when you are very busy?

Being busy when I was a student meant that I had a lot of reading to do. It was reading set for classes and assignments but reading was something that I associated with stress so I didn’t make time to read books that I actually wanted to read. I didn’t read much for a few months. It was kind of awful actual.

I’m not a student anymore (for now) so reading is just about pleasure again and it’s something that I do to relax after a bad shift at work or a busy day filling out forms. So, if I’m very busy I read late at night. I wait until everything is done and then I read until I go to bed. Sometimes, I stay up all night reading but that’s due to the fact that I don’t sleep very well.

So, last night I had finished all of my work at about 12am and then I was up until 3am reading Archangel’s Kiss. I didn’t make much progress because I’m finding it slow.But that’s how I fit in my reading. I’d love to read in the middle of the day just to take some time out of whatever I’m doing but I can’t justify that to myself.

I’m planning on reading after my shift tonight too so who knows what time I’ll be up till.

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: Reading When I’m Busy

Leave a Reply

