Books

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Want to Re-Read

tt-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish. I won’t be taking part weekly in 2017 so instead, I’ll only be doing the topics that interest me.

This week’s topic is: Freebie! So, since it’s a freebie this week I’ve decided to make a list of 10 Books That I Want to Re-Read

I don’t actually have any re-reads planned for this year because I need to get through some of the books that have been on my TBR for ages but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t any books on my shelf that are begging to be read for the second (or fifteenth) time.

Dracula 11. Dracula by Bram Stoker

I just love Dracula, it’s one of my favourite books ever.

I first read it in 2009 or 2010. I re-read it every year for a while but I don’t anymore. I haven’t read it since 2014 I think. It’s been far too long since I read it and I really would like to read it again soon.

animal farm2. Animal Farm by George Orwell

I read this for the first time in August 2016 and I already want to re-read it. It’s such a fantastic book and it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. Even though it’s a short book it’s really intense and inspiring.

You can read my review of it here.

Les Mis cover3. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

I read Les Mis last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. However, it’s such a large book that I feel like I missed a lot of the novel just by not paying enough attention.

I’d love to re-read it but it takes so long to read that I don’t know when I’ll have enough time to dedicate to it. I need to re-read it before I review it though because I would like to write an in-depth review.

good-me-bad-me4. Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

Wow, just wow. I read this book about three weeks ago but I want to read it again now. I don’t actually own it yet but I can’t wait to buy it.

It’s a fantastic book and I loved reading it.

You can read my review of it here.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell cover5. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

This is another large book that I feel like I have to re-read. I found it incredibly interesting when I first read it and I’m 100% sure I’d enjoy it again. I just want to re-read it so that I don’t miss anything. I want to read it thoroughly so that I don’t miss any details.

You can read my review of it here.

The Hunger Games6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

In the last few days I’ve had some great discussions with other bloggers about THG so I feel like I should re-read it. The last time I read it was 2013 or something so it’s been a while since I last read the series.

Maybe I’ll re-read the whole series this year.

Northern Lights cover7. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

Another book that I haven’t read since 2013/2014. I last read it for a module during my undergrad years but I had read it a few times before that. Once was after that awful film adaptation to cleanse my brain.

I only actually own the first book in the series so I might wait until I can buy the other two before I re-read this one.

I am Legend8. I am Legend by Richard Matheson

I read this for my GCSEs (odd choice, I know) and I haven’t read it since even though I loved it. It’s really short too so I have no excuse.

I’d like to read it this year so that I can review it. I hope I enjoy it as much as I did the first time around.

herland cover9. Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

I re-read this a few years ago but I do really enjoy this little novel. It’s a feminist utopian novel and it’s well worth the read. It would only take me a few hours to re-read it so I’m tempted to read it during March (Women’s History Month).

I wrote more about Herland in my 2016 Women’s History Month post.

The City and the city10. The City & the City by China Mieville

I love this novel but I haven’t read it in soooooooo long. I need to re-read it very soon. I love China Mieville’s work but The City & the City is my favourite novel by him that I’ve read so far.

I’d love to review it too because it’s fantastic and I’d love to get more people reading Mieville’s books.

 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Want to Re-Read

  1. Wow, I remember reading The Hunger Games years ago…now I want to pick that series up and re-read it again, too. I feel like since I’ve seen the movies I can really appreciate the books even more (I really hated the movies, I don’t know why).

    Like

    1. You should re-read it again! I’ve only seen the first film and I didn’t enjoy it enough to watch the others. Glad to know I’m not missing out on much 🙂

      Like

  2. Les Mis is one that I want to reread (I read it in 2012 or 2013) but I hesitate because of the size and because my TBR demands I don’t look back. FORWARD, it calls 😉 I really want to reread His Dark Materials trilogy too, and it’s probably more feasible.

    Like

    1. It’s such a huge book and you just never know how long a book like that would take you to read. But I hope you get to re-read it soon 🙂 My TBR calls me forward but a few books on my shelves are demanding to be read again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this list! There are some books I’ve read from here like Animal Farm and The Hunger Games, and some that I have not read yet, but am really interested in, like Good Me Bad Me, and Johnathan Norwell & Mr. Strange (which I own but haven’t gotten to yet. Great post!

    Like

    1. I like to re-read books because it’s like visiting an old friend. You know the book so well and it’s almost a comfort to read it. But since my TBR is ever growing I don’t know when I’ll be able to re-read them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

